SASG Residency Week 11

Naoto Hieda
3 min readSep 19, 2018

--

Week 6 | Week 7 | Week 8 | Week 9 | Week 10

September 13th to 16th was the open studio of our Seoul Art Space Geumcheon. On 14th, Evelyne and I did an audiovisual performance in the warehouse as an opening of the event. The performance “Usine 108” is inspired by the residency in Seoul, including the experience of temple stay and the industrial neighborhood of Geumcheon. It is not merely an audiovisual performance but we used experimental components such as motorized musical instruments, a quadrophonic sound system, real-time face tracking and body tracking. We have video footages and are planning to publish its video documentation soon.

I made projection mapping using freeliner and Raspberry Pis around the kitchen and Evelyne and I both did small workshops for kids playing synthesizers and tape video mapping.

It was also a great opportunity for us to visit Korean artists’ studios. Seungean is a weaving artist, and I observed her workshop session. Weaving is often referred to coding as the final patterns are generated by the sequence of code or scores. Seungean also uses some techniques that require weaving by hand and dyeing, and I enjoyed watching her works and tried to “decode” the techniques and process. She told me that I am the first one who asked her about these technical questions.

Goeun collects and disassembles home appliances; the studio is full of parts from fridges, air conditioners and monitors. She also has catalogues of home appliances from several manufactures, but the studio looked like a sort of library since she puts a sticker with a unique number on the corner of each part.

I already saw Sungeun’s (Josef) work, but it was the first time I tried his virtual reality pieces. The robot arm moves according to your arm movement, and you can touch your shoulder as if you are touching someone in front of you.

And the photos below are the work by international artists. Since I am already behind the schedule for publishing this article, so I am simply leaving the photos of their studios. Thank you for everyone came to the open studio and left valuable feedback to us. Also I would like to thank the fellow artists and SASG staff who worked really hard till late night to make the event successful.

--

--