SASG Residency Week 12

Naoto Hieda
3 min readSep 26, 2018

--

Week 7 | Week 8 | Week 9 | Week 10 | Week 11

Although our open studio is over, we still had an eventful week. On Tuesday, Evelyne and I had a meeting with Suhun from Art Center Nabi for a critique. It is part of an expert meeting program provided by Seoul Art Space Geumcheon, and Suhun kindly accepted to write about us. We presented our work including the ones during the residency and past collaborative and individual pieces. I am looking forward to read her article.

On Wednesday, there was an opening of international residency artists’ exhibition at SeMA Nanji Residency. Although unfortunately she had to leave Seoul before the exhibition, I had fun time with Verena, one of the artists of the residency, while she was in Seoul. It was great to see her work in person.

On Friday, I gave a talk at Seoul National University of Education about Processing and generative art. Woosung, who is teaching computer engineering, kindly invited me to have this opportunity. For the first half of the talk, I presented projects made with Processing and brief history about generative art (before computers). For the second half, I did a “coding challenge” on 10 Print inspired by Daniel Shiffman. I showed the process of programming while using a whiteboard to explain ideas. Having input from the students, we made a colorful 10 Print pattern with 3D boxes. The code can be found here. Woosung is planning to organize Processing Community Day in Seoul next year, and I am looking forward to collaborate with him.

Then I participated in a songpyeon workshop. Songpyeon is a rice cake filled with sesame or beans and traditionally made for Chuseok holiday, which is around September 24. They are made from rice powder, which is similar to Japanese dango. We started with making dumpling shapes; then we mixed different colors and shapes to create generative shapes as seen in the photo.

In the evening, I watched Lucas’s performance at B39, which is a newly renovated art bunker in Bucheon specialized in new media. I have worked with Lucas in Montreal for a performance, and it was great to see him in Seoul. It was the first time I saw his solo piece, and I am impressed by the solid setup with LED displays and DIY controllers. He once mentioned that he trust his machines and I felt the confidence while watching the performance.

--

--