Complete newbie guide to DZ60

Dilan Nebioglu
2 min readNov 26, 2019

--

I would be lying if I said I always believed mechanical keyboards are the best things that happened to the personal office comfort since the vertical mouse. No, I thought that they were ugly and something to stop using since the 90s when all we had were them. That is until I started working as a developer.

Now I am surrounded with colleagues who are investing into unapologetically cool looking mechanical keyboards, and I may have thought that I would be less of an imposter if I owned a mechanical keyboard. No, I was straight up jealous of this devotion to what I previously perceived as hideous, so I decided to buy one for myself.

At the time I was not feeling as adventurous as to build one from scratch, but I did not want to just buy a pre-made one either. There is the illusionary pride of being a developer, so I can, of course, make my own keyboard, sort of… So after some research, I decided to buy a fully assembled DZ60; this way I cannot break it beyond repair on the first day, but I can still personalize it. I was able to select the plate (60% WOOD CASE — zebra wood), stabilizer (Cherry), USB type, switches (Cherry brown) and the layout myself, but somebody else was making sure that the keyboard was assembled properly and I was not responsible for it. However, I felt pretty confident about buying the keycaps separately and placing them correctly, so I did that myself.

The fully assembled DZ60 has arrived with a bag of keycap set on the side. After spending hours on deciding which height, colour, type of the keycaps I want to use and their placements on the plate, I started using the keyboard right away. And bliss… I finally know why everyone’s been raving about the mechanical keyboards. After using Apple’s butterfly keyboard, my fingers feel like they belong to these Cherry brown switches. The wooden plate I selected also came with a wrist rest, and that makes my wrists, my forearms and my massage therapist really happy.

This is meant to be a series of articles in an attempt to fight my noviceness in the realm of mechanical keyboard — and hopefully yours.

--

--

Dilan Nebioglu
0 Followers

Ertesi gun icin bir sey diyemem ama, raki ictigin gun olmezsin.