I don’t want other women to feel as lonely and uncomfortable as I did

Nichole Freije
3 min readOct 2, 2017

--

2013 to 2017. The 2013 top was from Nordstrom, one of the few stores that carried plus sizes. 2017 top is from Matilda Jane, and the peppermint was from Disneyland.

I was at my friend Ellie’s house trying on outfits from her Matilda Jane collection, and I was reminded how lonely I used to feel shopping for clothes from 2010–2015.

During those five years, I had gained 75 pounds and 75 inches and I was doing my best to keep figure out my professional and personal life. Finding clothes that fit was a daily frustration. I kept getting bigger, and the selection of cute, comfortable clothes for women above a size 12 was hard to find.

Back at Ellie’s house, she pulled out an adorable pink and purple shirt from her Matilda Jane sample set (she’s a rep for the line.) She told me to try it on even though the shirt would be too big for me.

I’m still not used to hearing that.

She said the Matilda Jane Clothing samples range from XS to XXL, and this shirt was an XXL.

Flashing back a few years, I nearly cried on the spot. Stores didn’t carry XXLs. I always had to order my “special size” online. I decided at that moment I would buy Matilda Jane fashion because the company created clothes from sizes XS to XXL — and the XXLs weren’t hidden in a special section or only available online.

More Matilda Jane at Disneyland. The top is MJ. Don’t judge pants and shoes. Not sure how I put this outfit together.

If you’ve ever felt uncomfortable in your clothes or frustrated finding fashion that fits, you understand how hard getting dressed can be. If you haven’t, I hope my story gives you a new way to think about how you shop and where you spend your money.

Matilda Jane jacket and leggings. I like these shoes better, and they match my table and water bottle.

While I don’t wear plus sizes currently, I remember how alone I felt when I shopped, and I don’t want other women to feel that way, and I really don’t want young women to feel bad about themselves because of how adults dress, act and talk.

I’ve decided I will shop from organizations and people who design for women of all sizes, especially designers who make the main clothing lines available in sizes traditionally considered plus.

Three women. Three different sizes. One design.

The example we set for young girls is critical. That’s another reason why I shop brands like Matilda Jane that show models ranging from size XS to XXL. Seeing women of all sizes modeling speaks louder than any positive body image words we say.

One top made to fit three different sized women.

If you would like to join Ellie and me for a Matilda Jane trunk show and a Wildtree Meal Prep Worshop, you are invited to my house on Thursday, October 19. Email me at nichole.freije@gmail.com for details and to RSVP.

If you can’t make it October 19, we invite you to shop online with us. Ellie’s online store and select my name when you check out, and my Wildtree online store for simple, healthy meals.

Click to shop Ellie’s Matilda Jane Store

Thank you for listening to why being an advocate for women is important to me, and if you feel the same way, please start shopping with businesses that believe the same way. We’re all in this together.

--

--

Nichole Freije

From losing weight to becoming self-employed, this is my story. Sometimes embarrassing, sometimes funny, always the truth. Thanks for listening to me.