Official Guide for personal experience on fundraising for a HPAIR conference by Nikhil Jain.

My 1st crowdfunding experience for HPAIR Conference

Nikhil Jain
9 min readJan 14, 2019

--

(Raised AUD $2000 in 4 days)

Yes! it looked fancy in first place and at first time too, but it was and it is still possible for me and all of you. Let me explain how.

I am Nikhil Jain, Co-founder at Foreign Admits (https://foreignadmits.com) a graduate from IIT BHU in Mining Engineering and a former PhD student in Earth Sciences from IIT BOMBAY & Monash University, Melbourne.

From a middle class & average academic background to getting into IIT BHU & getting multiple job offers. Then from a Gold Medalist & Topper to PhD Dropout for starting ForeignAdmits [Pre-series A stage] & Top1%Club [ A global Community of Career Aspirants], I have taken a leap of faith towards my passion in enabling world to have Quality Education & Saving Environment & world from the issues of Plastics.

As a Reseachpreneur (Researcher turned Entrepreneur), I am working endlessly to ensure that aspirants get admitted to their dream universities to have a brighter career through foreignadmits.com

As an environmentalist, I am coming up with a research backed venture to save environment from the misuse of plastics. Thus is possible through — phabio.in

With a deeper inclination towards tackling unemployment, I have been helping people get internships, jobs & build startups via PushTalent initiative.

Crowdfunding for me had been an entirely different experience.

I have done by now- 3 successful crowdfunding campaigns for attending 3 reputed events.

  1. Around AUD $ 2000 in less than 4 days for HPAIR-Sydney 2017,

2. Around USD $ 1500 in less than 24hrs for Asia Pacific Innovation Academy, Shenzhen. (Check out that experience here)

3. Around USD $ 1000 in less than 6 hrs for Global Entrepreneurship Summer School, Shanghai.

Back Story (How did it all started?)

In 2017, I was selected at two big conferences -

  1. 8th University Scholars Leadership Symposium at Bangkok by United Nations (Humanitarian Affairs)
  2. Harvard Project for Asian and International Relations (H-PAIR) Sydney 2017 by The Harvard Project for Asian and International Relations.

I believed that H-PAIR would be a more valuable addition to my career. Thus I decided to go ahead with H-PAIR Sydney 2017 conference.

But the problem came in when I realized that I didn’t have enough amount to support myself for attending this conference. Thus I was suggested to go for crowdfunding by my friends.

I thought to give it a try and thus went for crowdfunding websites like — ImpactGuru or Ketto (Outsiders can try for GofundMe).

But I realised that these websites may or may not work for me, as the campaign got hardly any donation for 1st 2 days.

These fundraising websites will take a good commission from your donations and hardly work enough for your campaign.

Also too much of information is being filled and no surity of withdrawal amount in middle of target goal for using in tickets and other trip related expenses.

These kind of websites may work only if 4–6 people are having good network and popularity of you or the network helping you.

I would still recommend to use these or similar platforms as it brings more authenticity and details for potential donors to your cause.

Alternative Methods

Meanwhile, when the funding platforms were not working, I started communicating with the social media communities of mine.

I did posts on Facebook and LinkedIn.

I shared-

  • Details of the opportunity with links or PDFs (showcasing its merits),
  • A proof of my selection letter given by the Conference (showcasing its competitiveness).
  • The impact it will have on my career & life (showcasing the relevance of impact) and
  • The bigger goals I wish to achieve by attending this conference (which is the most important point of the pitch).

It took a day to start getting traction by friends, community members and other professional networks on both platforms (Facebook & LinkedIn).

I had to this increase my efforts.

Then, I started to message personally with a pitch having all 4 points mentioned above to many potential donors-

  • Big Startup founders,
  • Corporate Senior Officials,
  • Big officials,
  • Investors,
  • Institution Heads,
  • Alumni (who are well established),
  • Supervisors of previous internships,
  • Mentors

I, thus, received confirmation from few, some support from alumni and industry people.

Eventually, I have also shared about it on my closed communities like-

  • Whatsapp Groups (I was an active part of)
  • Facebook Groups (I was an active part of)
  • LinkedIn Groups (most relevant ones)

Also I have had broadcasted about my selection and information about fundraiser with an indirect pitch. This was done to show them that I was in need of the support but the contribution should be made only if you are interested and willing to help.

I took this method instead of begging to all individually and may not be getting good impression. I tried the indirect approach to check who wanted to (but for that your network has to be big and mine was big).

Thus my suggestions for all raising funds-

  1. Post it on your social media platforms ( LinkedIn & Facebook) with appropriate details and proof of selection.

[Ensure that you do have a good social reputation].

As people help mainly on the basis of your social reputation and rest everything is secondary.

2. Contact your college Alumni

[Approach the close ones 1st and then others who are capable]

3. Contact to Potential donors on Social Media and over Email/ LinkedIn message.

Send them a humble and informative message explaining the benefits it has on your career. Do mention that how can it help you in achieving the bigger goals of societal or environmental development.

4. Contact Startups and Corporates from which you can seek the support (in cash or in kind) and return in favour with your skills or services (Kind of Pro-Bono deal).

You can seek sponsorships from them, and in return of their publicity through your social media activities and blogs which can improve their reach.

Try connecting with those companies whose goals can match yours or of the conference.

5. Approach to your friends and connections. See if they can help you by sharing your social media posts on their Network or helping with their network contacts, it’s wonderful.

People sharing your post also gives a sense of validation & encouragement to your and their followers about the importance of your fundraiser.

6. Explore Public Scholarships too. The local trusts, the community trusts (like Jain trust for Jain Community, etc), community bodies, societal funds, and big trusts (like Tata Trusts, etc) and other social organizations supports sometimes for these causes also but to a very limited number of bright students. You can approach that but since it’s a time taking process with fewer chances of assurance. Thus, I avoided it.

Tips & suggestions to have a smoother experience-

  1. Be Humble in asking for help.
  2. Be humble and polite in explaining the Reasons for Crowdfunding to interested donors.
  3. Ignore the negative comments and don’t pay attention to negativity.
  4. Make people aware that helping matters more on intentions and not just magnitude. (As many wanted to contribute from $10 to $100 but are afraid to ask you for helping you as they feel shy that it may be a very small amount for a generous contribution.)
  5. Be ready with all information about the program and lot of patience as you may have to type or call for explaining to potential backers about it.

Some of my previous year links to post on social media about my Crowdfunding campaign-

On LinkedIn [I Lost my old LinkedIn profile and thus LinkedIn Links wont be visible]-

  1. Selection Post- https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6275194872207106048
  2. Idea post on Selections and 1st pitching to Network- https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6275339731517698048
  3. Update post on the fundraiser (midway of fundraising to inform and inspire others to donate)- https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6275934067548622848
  4. Completion Update of Fund Raiser — https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6276694314844295168
  5. A usual update about two Selections (may not be related or necessary)- https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6275240105527603200
  6. A post-event Experience update with a Humble and good thank You note- https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6308221297948270592

On Facebook [Should be Visible]-

  1. 1st post (having information, impact and Call to Action)- https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1452394698116342&id=100000374781031
  2. Additional Support from HPAIR- https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1452532528102559&id=100000374781031
  3. Intermediate update to inform, inspire and try and enable others to help me- https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1452532528102559&id=100000374781031

My email or LinkedIn message script to ask help from people-

Dear ________,

I am Nikhil Jain, a connection from Linkedin and your keen follower. (The personalized pitch to connect) We also had worked together when I was an intern at the same company where you were working at. You may or may not remember me, but I follow you here and on Facebook. I am sending this message which may sound selfish but it holds the key to someone’s dream of helping Millions. I am a PhD Student at Monash University and IIT Bombay. I am selected for HPAIR- Sydney. The Conference had over 2000 applications and only 600 around students were selected all across the globe. I don’t have enough funds which can allow me to attend this Conference and thus for the 1st time in life I have asked for Crowdfunds from people I can trust or have been inspired from. Such Conference isn’t in the technical domain of mine so not supported by Institute also. As of Now, I have raised 28k <Current status> and Target amount is INR 88K for Conference (including Airfare and all).

If you may be able to help or can help with Someone who may also help me in Attending this Conference, I would be grateful to you.

You can contribute with whatever you like to and I will be thankful for that. I would even try to return the gratitude with my skills, ideas and many shoutouts during my stay at Sydney and also during travelling.

Can send me on (Paytm or UPI) Or (PayPal Link) Or can send your bank details for any more substantial help. Regards, Nikhil Jain A Researchpreneur Attached: Support Letter by HPAIR, Harvard University.

<End>

Some important stats-

  1. It took only 23 backers (3 -5 main backers) to support me for the successful Crowdfunding.
  2. But I had to message 50–60 people and done 12–15 posts to get that in 4–5 days.
  3. No Crowdfunding platform worked for me in India as I had no PR or any medical reasons for raising funds. [This may not be true for all and thus would recommend to pick a platform if needed, as per your comfort. But do check if the platform gives you right to withdraw funds even if the campaign target it not 100% as that gives you some comfort. Also check for deductions in that]
  4. I relied on my social reputation in the network and it worked out then also and in two next Crowdfunding events also.
  5. Many social media imposters had done bad mouth about me on Facebook or on messenger without any context and I have to ignore those few negative elements.
  6. Many had denied also to help for some of their own reasons and I respected their denial also very humbly as when you’re asking for help, its a voluntary contribution by others.

GIVE! GIVE! GIVE! BEFORE YOU ASK.

I had been running from past 2–3 years, a set of 6–8 WhatsApp groups for IITs, IIMs, Non-IITs and Non-IIMs for helping 1500+ people with Jobs and Internships.

Now it's transformed into a 5000+ curated member group on Facebook- PushTalent.

Also have helped many others selflessly and did help in few fundraisers also in a secretive way by donations. Till now over $50000 have been cumulatively raised for all people whom I have helped or consulted. These all have added values and may have given returns for my good work during my fundraising duration.

I am thankful to all those 23 backers and many unknown and known supporters who have helped me raise the funds.

I did use every penny in a wise and frugal manner and had a wonderful trip also.

To get suggestions on travel planning, you can email me or message me on Facebook or LinkedIn.

Some of my juniors who managed to get funded following this —

Cheers! And Remember there will be more conferences like HPAIR [Global Entrepreneurship Summer School; EIA, Europe] and if you are not able to manage funds, don’t get disheartened. (I had failed too on many such occasions before been able to crack this one)

CHEERS!

--

--

Nikhil Jain

Hustler | Entrepreneur | ResearchPreneur | Co-founder at ForeignAdmits.com | IIT BHU | IIT BOMBAY & Monash University Alumnus