Photo By: KirstenMarie on Unsplash

Mastering Personal Growth (Part 2): Embracing the 100-Day Tim Ferris Show Challenge

Day 40/100 — Part 2

Nimish Jalan
3 min readMay 28, 2023

--

Welcome to part 2 of the Tim Ferris Show 100-Day challenge.

In case you are new here, you can find more about this challenge here. And here’s part 1.

I’ve been enjoying the challenge a lot more than I imagined. I’ve been listening at 1.2X speed for 30 minutes every day during my morning walks.

In the last 22 days (I goofed up), I’ve managed:

  • 18 episodes
  • 873 minutes or ~ 14.55 hours of content

My plan is to stick to my format just like the last time around. So let’s begin.

Here’s what I’ve learned

  1. Starting a new episode felt daunting in the past. It doesn't feel so anymore. In fact, I look forward to my morning walks. Something I’ve never enjoyed in my life before. It's one of my favourite activities in my whole day.
  2. I am getting exposure to new topics, subjects, mindsets, ideas, books, etc. on a daily basis. Things I’d never go searching on my own. It is broadening my knowledge and providing me with a fresh new perspective.
  3. In the last 20 days, episodes have ranged from fitness, finance, creativity, writing, technology, productivity, drugs, meditation, etc.
  4. My mind is brimming with new things to talk about. It can get a bit nerdy and intense though. Not everyone is interested in talking about this kind of stuff.
  5. I’ve developed a new note-taking methodology for myself. Note-taking is something I’ve struggled with for a long time.
  6. Thanks to my note-taking method, I’m experiencing better recall and retention.
  7. My listening skills have improved. I am able to catch nuances and shifts in conversations a lot better than I did in the past. Enhancing the whole experience further.
  8. The guests on the Tim Ferris Show are very inspirational. The impact and importance of a strong network are visible. Now, I wish I had paid attention to my friend circles sooner in my life.
  9. Notable episodes are #16 with Joe De Sena, #20 with Dan Carlin, #25 with Kevin Kelly, and #24 with Kevin Rose.
  10. I’d give a miss to episode #23 on homoeopathy, #21 with Mike Shinoda and #28 with Peter Theil.

Questions I am pondering upon

  1. The importance of going to college vs. self-education. What’s the more rewarding path?
  2. What do I believe that very few others believe?
  3. Why did I attend college? Was it because it was a 4-year party? Or an investment? Or insurance?
  4. What do I do consistently that most people don’t do?
  5. What can I do to deconstruct my life and reconstruct it again to reach higher creative goals?
  6. What can I be the best at in this world?
  7. Can I be world-class in 10–12 things? Skills that can be achieved in 6 months.

And that’s a wrap. I am excited to go over this list of resources. I am hoping it will contribute in a significant way.

I hope you do enjoy this post. If you have ideas, thoughts, concerns, etc. please DM me or feel free to comment.

I am hoping to make this informative, fun and engaging.

--

--

Nimish Jalan

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)