My TIIDELab Experience 4.0

Nwokporo Chukwuebuka
5 min readOct 11, 2022

--

When I thought that I had seen it all in the month of August, I never knew that the month of September was filled with stress, fun, and a mix of pain.

August was indeed wonderful, but a lot of events unfolded in this little fourth month. In fact, throughout this month I was on my toes as we had a lot of things to do. In all, I learned a lot, communicated more, collaborated more, and researched more. Here is a breakdown of how this month went

  • Non-Technical Meetups
  • AgroEase Project — Update
  • Learning and Practicing

Non-Technical Meetups

As usual, technical meetups are always better experienced than explained. We had an interesting session with our founder, Mr. Kadir Salami, who took us on an exciting session titled, “Planting your Flag."

In the words of our founder, “I will not tell you anything different from what you have been told." Everyone can code, but not everyone has what it takes to stand out. " This is always our founder’s watchword for us anytime he has an opportunity to talk to us. After giving us a work-through on what planting your flag is all about, here are some highlights of his speech:

  • Everything you’ve ever wanted is on the other side of fear
  • Getting a mentor is an important part of your journey
  • Document your stories no matter how small
  • Ask questions when you are not clarified
  • Failures are part of the journey too
  • Fear is a friend if you know how to handle it well

After his speech, we conferred upon him a BEACON OF HOPE award. This was a wonderful session indeed. Here is a video snippet of how it all went:

We also had Mr. Pishikeni Tukura who gave us his own bit. Believe me, we were loaded with a lot of information to make us stand out as developers.

The last non-technical meetup for the month of August was another exciting experience, as we were taught the rudiments of pitching our products. In this section, I learned the various types of pitches. This event was a wonderful one indeed and a plus to our career, thanks to our program coordinator, Mr. Aderoju Shamsudeen.

AgroEase Project — Update

We had two sprints in the month of August to implement basic functionalities using JavaScript. Finally, our project was coming alive and begin to be criticized by our council of elders to make sure that our product is successful.

This was a bit challenging because not every member of the team was as grounded in JavaScript as the others, but nevertheless, we pulled through. We collaborated more, communicated more, and had a lot of meetings just to make sure that we delivered. We were able to deliver successfully. Here are some of our highlights in the 5th sprint:

AgroEase 5th sprint presentation

Learning and Practicing

Indeed, it has been a month of learning and constant practice. This month was packed with a lot of important aspects of JavaScript as we were rounding off so we could be separated into our various stacks.

We concluded the asynchronous JavaScript and fired down to the Object Oriented Programming (OOP) principles in JavaScript, and we had an introductory class in Nodejs. Here is a breakdown of what we have learned so far:

  • Understanding Callback functions
  • Promises in JavaScript
  • Handling asynchronous operations using the “async” and “await” keyword
  • Introduction to OOP
  • Understanding “objects” in JavaScript
  • The “constructor” function
  • Introduction to Nodejs

Finally, we had finished learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. It was time to be separated into our various tracks. I have always had a passion for logic, so I opted for the backend track. I am very optimistic about what the future holds for me. I can’t wait to be a certified backend developer.

Highlight Gallery

Non-Technical Meeting with Big-brother

Conclusion

When the going get’s tough, the tough get going.
~ John. F. Kennedy

This has been my watchword.

My special appreciation goes to God Almighty for granting us this opportunity and sparing our lives till this moment, and also to our founder, Mr. Kadir Salami, and the big brother of this fellowship, Mr. Aderoju Shamsudeen.

There is a lot to talk about, but I can’t write it all. This will be where I’ll stop. I’ll definitely update you, and that’s why I’ll ask you to please subscribe and follow me to get updates when a new article drops. You can follow me on these platforms.

Twitter 🐦: @nwokporo_ebuka
LinkedIn ⚡: @chukwuebuka_nwokporo
GitHub 🚀: @ebukvick
Hashnode 📗: @codedaddy

--

--