Skin Care Routine: 03 Exfoliant

Debbie Chan
3 min readAug 25, 2023

--

We’re at the 3rd step of Deboruh’s Skin Care Routine series!

Typically, depending on the exfoliant, this can either be step 2 or 3. For example, if you’re going to use a peeling gel, I would swap this step with Step 2 (toner). And then follow through with a toner, moisturizer, and treatment. But if you’re not using a peeling gel, and using something like a liquid exfoliant, then I would recommend this as step 3.

01

Photo provided by Amazon

Number 1 on the list for me is the Paula’s Choice 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant + Paula’s Choice 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant Duo. I like pairing these two together mainly because they’re both Paula’s Choice products, but also because they work so well together! If you’re experiencing bumpy skin, have acne scars that you’d like to smoothen out, or even hyperpigmentation like myself, then this is something I would recommend using.

There are a couple of sizes to choose from; travel size and the one I use:
• 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant 4 fl. oz. (118ml)
• 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant 3.3 fl. oz. (100ml)

02

Paula’s Choice can be on the expensive side. The Isntree Chestnut BHA 2% is a much more affordable option.

When you apply this, do keep in mind that you want to make sure to wait for the formula to dry before applying step 4 (treatment) and step 5 (moisturizing).

From my knowledge, there is only 1 size, 3.38fl oz. (100ml).

03

Now for the outlier, you’ll want to use the Dr. G Brightening Peeling Gel before using your toner.

I used to use the Holika Holika peeling gel but over the years, they’ve increased in their prices from $8/bottle to more or less $15/bottle. After some research, I found another peeling gel that works the same as the Holika gel, if not better and at a more affordable price.

I love this gel because it’s gentle on the skin, works effectively, and doesn’t feel abrasive. Be mindful, don’t use this everyday, I recommend once a week or 3–4 time a month. From what I know it comes in 1 size, 4.2 oz.

Skincare is all about skin prep and consistency! I don’t think I’ve ever gone a day without doing some sort of treatment, read all about my secrets to my Step 4: Treatment for my nighttime routine!

--

--

Debbie Chan
0 Followers

I love traveling, writing, and good design. UX/UI Product designer on the weekdays and photographer on the weekends. I’m quite the busy lady.