My 15 Wishes For 2023.

2022 was an emotional rollercoaster.

Okwywrites
3 min readDec 18, 2022
Jonathan Portillo. Pexels.com

Brandon Ellrich made me do this. I decided to ‘one-up’ him with a wishes list. (Yeah, I wish).

1. I wish I can travel to twenty countries- eating and drinking to my heart content. With a kid and my inability to yet attain the wealth of the 1% of writers, I do not see this possibility in 2023 but one can wish right?

2. Now about that 1% wealth, I wish I can make $5000 per article I publish on Medium. Funny thing about this wish, Medium as well as many other platforms have still not yet figured out how to pay African creatives even though like many other platforms, they have no issues taking our subscription money. So in 2023, I wish Medium does better and maybe I can make $5000 per article, right?

Image by Author

3. I wish for once that an honest election happens in my home country. We are tired of corrupt individuals we did not elect, lording it over us for another 8 years.

4. I wish I can gain the superpower of paying full attention to my phone while at the same time, paying full attention to my new fave TV show while at the same time firing on all cylinders as I write out all the viral articles of 2023.

5. I wish that 2023 heralds a genuine era of love, love, love all over the world.

6. I wish I can finally have the energy and space for my pet sanctuary. Pets being: 2 cats, 2 dogs, 1 tarantula, 3 different birds and 1 snake.

Come to Mama. Photo: Pexels.com/Kamil Zubrzycki

7. I wish that all rats and cockroaches in the world will die off in 2023. I really don’t care how you feel about this.

8. I wish abusers have their abuse turned back on them . And catered off by Musk to Saturn. I wish their real tears and horror will become the soundtrack of 2023.

9. I wish to have the confidence to skydive, unlike Brandon Ellrich. He makes a good case of why he wouldn’t. Now, what if I had the confidence to? I wish!

10. I wish I can eat one big bowl of a different brand of delicious ice-cream all through the year- without shitting my pants like Jason Provencio did. What a disgrace to ice-cream.

11. I wish to have lunch with Beyonce, Hilary Clinton, Michelle Obama, Chimamanda Adichie and Oprah in 2023.

12. I wish I have the best clapback for every nonsense, in the moment. No more getting it in the shower.

13. I wish to read a book a week in 2023. I don’t just want to read them, I want to retain them and have perfect recall in perfect situations. Tim Denning has a somewhat contrary view of this however, and I kinda dig what he said but, I am wishing here, people.

14. I wish my African passport can take me to any part of the world without me waiting for 3 years for approval. In other news, no more stereotyping and discriminatory practices against people of colour.

15. Now that you have read this list, I wish you give me ‘50’ claps and a comment. You know, why wait until 2023?

Thank you for reading.

My name is Adaobi Okwy. Please turn on Email Notification for my next post. Also, Buy me coffee?

--

--

Okwywrites

Non-quitter. Writer. Speaker. Too tired for bullshit. Say Hi