HOW TO MAKE AT LEAST $1000 MONTHLY ON LINKEDIN AS A FREELANCER (MY EXPERIENCE)

TOWOBOLA, Olamide
5 min readApr 14, 2022

--

Hello, my fellow freelancers!

Trust the month of April started on a good note for you.

It sure has for me and I’m glad about this.

Also, thanks for your feedback on my last blog. It really helps me know that you are following and you find these content valuable for your freelancing journey.

If you are new here, check out my last blog on Email Templates you can use to pitch your clients/services.

MOVING ON, in today’s blog, I’ll be sharing with you how I started earning in DOLLARS on LinkedIn.

While I’m an advocate for leveraging on freelancing platforms like Upwork, Fiverr and the likes, I believe you can always increase your earning potential. And part of how you do that is by increasing your channels.

LinkedIn, for me, was one of those channels.

And in this blog, I will show you how you can start earning just like I did, and still do.

Let’s begin.

My Story

When I started out freelancing, I took a long hard look and discovered there was one MASSIVE problem:

The majority of my income was coming from only a few clients.

And when I say the majority, I’m talking about a revenue concentration of over 80%.

Now that’s a precarious predicament.

You only have to lose a few clients to watch your income take a huge hit. However, the good news is that you can protect yourself from these situations rearing their ugly heads by marketing yourself constantly to diversify your client base.

LinkedIn to the Rescue

Understanding the importance of having a diverse client base in my own business, I began looking for ways to get more clients.

I headed over to LinkedIn and worked my way down the list for finding clients. I typed some keywords on Google, before spending some time on LinkedIn.

I have used LinkedIn in the past when building a prospect list and finding clients but decided to try something different.

Here’s what I did

I searched for job posts on LinkedIn by typing keywords into the search bar. I did so tentatively, not really expecting results.

I visited my LinkedIn home page and typed the keywords: “Looking for a freelance writer” or “looking for writers.”

Follow the arrows. It narrows down your search to the latest jobs. You can reset!

I also got more specific and typed in “looking for a B2B copywriter” (yes that’s my niche).

Before I continue, I’d like to give you a pointer: If you also choose to get that specific and search for jobs in your niche, you may ignore the advice about sorting by the “latest”.

After finding several job postings, I started responding. All in all, I responded to a total of 10 in a day. While my responses varied depending on the post, I always included a follow-up connection request and added a personal note mentioning that I had responded to their post.

I got no responses with some postings and with others I was told that the position had been filled.

Funny enough, it was the least expected job that I applied for that got a positive response.

Only a few days later, it finally happened.

Source: Pexels

I received an email from a client.

Sent the client a cold pitch and boom! I got hired!

I filled out my contact form, and I followed up insisting that we jump on a Google Hangouts call.

I highly recommend that every freelancer does this, especially writers as this allows you to create a personal connection with the prospect, learn more about their business, and see if you’re comfortable working with them.

During the client call, I followed my own advice about being prepared and remaining confident on client calls.

By the end of what was a very informative and promising call, we had agreed on the next steps.

He was to send me a rough outline for two pillar pages he wanted me to write. I would then have a look and send through a cost estimate.

Boooooom! LinkedIn did the magic.

Just imagine you do that often and secure 5 clients a month, you can make as much as $5k monthly.

Here’s the drill:

If you don’t have a LinkedIn account or an optimized one, I will advise you do that first.

My team put together a checklist of what you need to have an effectively optimized LinkedIn account. Check it out here.

Once that is done. Do this.

Go on LinkedIn now, search brands or keywords along with your skill. You can even go ahead as getting their marketing email. Send your pitch. Target the decision-makers and send your cold pitch. Cold pitching is a game of numbers. Send out as many pitches as possible.

Source: Pexels

Build connections!

Often times you can get another client through one you just did work for. After you’re done doing work for them, ask if they know anybody else that might need help with your service. Referrals are a great way to get more clients!

Start NOW!

I look forward to your positive feedback. See you next week.

In our next blog, I’ll be sharing more helpful tips on freelancing, digital skills, and remote work.

If you loved this blog, give it a clap and comment if you found it helpful.

Do you have any questions about freelancing? Send that in the comments too.

Follow me on:

--

--

TOWOBOLA, Olamide

Hi there. My name is Olamide Towobola, a freelance coach and copywriter. I share helpful tips and resources on freelancing, digital skills and remote work.