My FASTag experience

Part 2

Umesh Gopinath
UX in India
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

After publishing, It’s almost impossible to get a FASTag, ICICI’s social team called me again on Monday and put someone from Bommanahalli branch on conference and asked him to talk to me. He took my details and said someone would come to my office the next day to pick up the documents required. He also promised he would process this on priority and hand me the tag in a day’s time as I was traveling on Friday evening. Everything went off well and I got the tag hand delivered on Wednesday.

Manage Online

After I got the tag, I went to the ICICI Bank FASTag website and logged in. As expected I got a badly designed application where I can see the Tag balance and a Wallet balance. I called customer care to understand how to use this interface. Someone took time out to explain that I can load money into the tag or a wallet. If I put money in the wallet I can then set to recharge the tag from the wallet. Apparently this would make the transaction fast and error free. Didn’t make any sense but anyway I loaded the tag with some money.

Using the Tag

The tag looks ugly, so I initially didn't want to stick it on my windshield. RFID tags don't require line of sight so I thought I’ll flash them whenever I reach the reader.

I did that at the Electronic city flyover toll booth. There was confusion on the faces of the people there but they allowed us to pass through. I didn't get any update of the charge on SMS as promised. But I was stopped at the next booth.

FASTag lanes are barricaded to stop all vehicles from lining up there. So by default the watchman will tell you to move away to the next lane. When I showed the tag he came to me and asked me to stick it on the windshield. I tried resisting but he insisted. After sticking it he opened the barricade for us to go in. From then onwards this became the drill; drive towards the blocked lane, point towards the tag on the windshield for the watchman to allow us in and then drive through the gate.

I think most of the readers didn't work. In a few we could see a status display flashing saying ‘Valid tag’ but in others nothing happened as we crossed. In some cases someone came and scanned the tag with something that appeared like a barcode scanner. On our trip that had around 10 toll booths, only 3 (roughly Rs.150) were charged to the tag. I got the SMS updates a day later and saw the new balance online.

The overall experience was good. There’s lot to be improved but I think the pain was worth it. As described it was not an easy drive through but was still faster than waiting in long lines. We did save a lot of time. Moreover we felt good taking the priority lane when others looked at us in envy. Wife was happy, and that’s what’s more important. :-)

--

--

Umesh Gopinath
UX in India

ex Design @newtonmailapp, Geek, Blogger and Amateur Photographer