FASTag banner on ICICI Bank website

It’s almost impossible to get a FASTag

The prepaid RFID thingy for toll payment in Indian highways.

UX in India
Published in
4 min readFeb 12, 2017

--

I was fascinated by this prepaid toll tag that my brother stuck to our rented car’s windshield when we did a week long road trip in Australia a couple of years ago. There are no manned toll booths on Australian highways or at least I didn't see one.

A toll gantry in Australia

Every now and then, when a car passes through these gantries (like the ones we have on Bangalore roads to say ‘give way for ambulance’ !!!) on the highways, the cameras and sensors automatically deduct the toll. It’s very easy to miss these sensors as they don’t hamper your driving experience in anyway. No waiting, no slowing down.

“What if we didn't have the prepaid card?”, I asked my brother. “Then an invoice with the toll amount and fine will be sent to the Rent-a-Car company and will then will be forwarded to our address.”

During the DeMo month when the government was pushing for cashless payments I got to know about a similar prepaid toll tag that works for Indian National Highway. It’s called FASTag. There are no fancy gantries but there’ll be a reserved gate for FASTag at the toll booths. When the sensor reads the tag the gate opens. I was so excited and wanted to get one. I even planned a road trip to Kerala so that I can use this. I searched for FASTag and got to know that I can get it from this ICICI Bank website.

I went to the site and there was no link to buy one. I can only reload the card. Somewhere in the footer it’s written,

You can avail ICICI Bank FASTag just by sending an SMS & our executive will call you within 2 working days.

I sent the SMS and got a confirmation reply. After that nothing happened for a week. I then called the Toll Free Number provided.

Sir you have to go to Hoskote toll booth or Bommanahalli ICICI Bank branch with your Address proof, ID proof, PAN Card, Passport size photo, Driving License and Vehicle’s registration documents.

Oops they are all far away. Why is it so difficult to get this thing?

Hmm, otherwise I will arrange an executive to come to you and help you with this?

But still why can’t I simply buy it online? And why these many documents? It’s a prepaid toll card for crying out loud. And why is it linked to my car? So when I change my car I have to go through this pain again?

Sorry sir, this is the process and I can only tell you what I was told.

Aaargh! OK please help me with this. Could you please send someone to my office to pick these documents and issue the tag?

Sure. Someone will call you.

A week went by and nothing happened. I vented about this on Twitter. Suddenly the social media team of ICICI sprung into action. I shared my number on DM and someone called me.

Someone will call you from Bommanahalli branch and help you with this.

Days went by and nothing happened. I pinged them on DM again.

Hi, we understand that our official has spoken to you and is working on your complaint.

I waited a few days but nothing happened. I pinged them for a couple of days and then someone called again to tell me that someone else will call me from Bommanahalli branch and close the issue.

Nothing happened. I pinged them for 3 more days and I dropped the idea as it was just one more week for my trip. And I know that things as complex as getting a prepaid toll card won’t happen in India in a week. But then I get this reply…

Hi, we understand that our official has spoken to you and addressed your concern.

Huh, when did that happen? I replied saying that I didn’t get a call and also that I have dropped the plan as the entire process seems to be complex and difficult.

Hi, we deeply regret to hear of your experience. Our official will again contact you shortly to resolve your queries.

I have lost hope. I think I’ll continue to wait and pay by cash at the toll booths. Or use one when I manage to go to Australia next.

Update on 27 Feb 2017: I finally managed to get it.

--

--

Umesh Gopinath
UX in India

ex Design @newtonmailapp, Geek, Blogger and Amateur Photographer