Why You & Your Pastor Hate to Be Questioned, Confronted & Criticized

Also why we Mis-Take timidity for obedience & Loyalty

Paa Kwesi
5 min readAug 18, 2024
Photo by Clement Souchet on Unsplash

When I write about Christianity’s lack of focus on social systems, I intentionally do so provocatively.

My aim is always to challenge for change. People appreciate the changes I call for but hate the discomfort of the challenge that accompanies it.

For instance, I’ve critiqued hyper-individualistic materialism, which blinds Christian movements in West Africa from seeing the benefits of communal upliftment. I also questioned the subtle theologies Christians are forming about the need for money, the good life, and human suffering.

In both cases, I discussed miracles, arguing that their role in alleviating suffering has been misunderstood, misused, and ‘skewedly’ used.

Similarly, my colleague Alfred Appiah, who has written extensively on social issues at the intersection of Christian leadership, wrote recently to question the ecclesial structures of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana (PCG), particularly regarding how money/resources are distributed and pastoral duties are assigned.

While many readers appreciated our perspectives, some responded with anger, insisting that questioning such matters was disrespectful and lacking in spirituality.

“Paul, how dare you say we can not depend on a miracle to eradicate systemic suffering? Do you not believe in miracles? …Any more?” Those are some of the responses I got on the phone.

Other responders referenced our “elite” education abroad and blamed it for “corrupting” our faith in God and confidence in the same old church traditions and practices that raised us.

“You are reading too much at your school. That is why you say such things about our men of God”, some commented.

I will say upfront that these comments are a blatant misrepresentation of my views, the state of my personal relationship with God, and a complete misunderstanding/misreading of the aims of my writing.

In fact, they (the comments) reflect a deeper issue among many Christian communities. Namely, people (and leaders) do not want to commit to uncomfortable (and thoughtful) dialogue on topics that touch on the core of their beliefs.

Many have been brainwashed not to foresee a sound alternative to their beliefs and to be comfortable with their one-sided beginner views, suspecting evil in all who don't believe or think like them.

As a result, they resist questioning, reimagining, interrogating, examining, and rethinking whatever they first believed about anything associated with God or the church they are members of while surrounding themselves with many excuses.

There are several reasons, but on the part of leaders, I will name three.

1. Questioning is falsely perceived as anti-spirituality

In charismatic movements (sorry guys, I gotta say it), especially but not exclusively, critical thinking and confrontation are often associated with elitism, stubbornness, and disobedience.

They falsely link true spirituality to “obedience” (timidity?), as well as respect and loyalty to silence or being shy.

Anyone who is assertive and curious is seen as a threat to spirituality, and this mindset extends to broader attitudes toward education and avid reading. It’s one reason some charismatics often view theological education, or sometimes any kind of higher education, with suspicion.

2. Questioning Interrupts Control

Church, especially in its institutional form, operates within an unapparent political system wherein there is a power dynamic between leadership and followership. Not all, but often, in recent times, leaders have worked hard to preserve their place and authority in this dynamic.

To stay in power, they honor silence and obedience and punish or ostracize the mavericks. Questioning falls somewhere within the maverick category since it disrupts the power balance, undermining complete control.

We see this phenomenon in sermons and books that insist on the leader’s authoritative place, such as “Touch, not the anointed,” or references to Miriam falling sick for questioning Moses as reasons followers need to follow in silence, or an extreme insistence to “honor the man of God” because their hard work deserves it.

3. Leaders are afraid of public vulnerability

Many Christian leaders resist being questioned because it simply exposes their vulnerabilities. Questioning, especially the kind I am most committed to, reveals weaknesses, inconsistencies, and gaps in knowledge and beliefs.

And in environments where leaders are expected to have all the answers, admitting a lack of knowledge or mistakes can undermine their authority, influence, and credibility.

My thoughts???

As you can tell already,

I do not think we should stop trying to understand things in order to improve them simply because a few men at the top and their fanatic followers will be upset.

Again, I think constructive questioning can be a healthy means for revision and improvement. I do not spend time thinking about anything I do not genuinely love; if I love a thing well enough, I work towards its improvement. Part of that transformative process is asking hard questions and coming up with resolutions no matter what it takes.

That is to say, contrary to what others may think, I ask the questions I do of the church because I love the church and want it to do well.

If at all a biblical example is needed, note that the transformative power of questions is evident in Paul and Jesus’ ministry.

Practically, everything they said and did was in response to questions people asked. When Jesus’ critics questioned his identity and source of supernatural power, his answers reshaped their (and our) understanding of faith.

When Paul responded to controversial questions from early Christian communities and churches, his response through numerous letters (a.k.a. Epistles of the New Testament) significantly redefined Christian theology.

Also, historically, constructive questioning preceded many great revolutions and social reforms. Think of Ghana’s independence from colonial rule or Martin Luther’s reformation, for example.

Fellows, my point is well made:

I am not saying we should be stubborn, disrespectful maniacs who rejoice in ridicule and in shaming others. That is not my desire or goal at all.

Instead, I see value in thoughtful questioning that generates public dialogue. And I hope we also see that asking hard questions, although very uncomfortable, doesn’t weaken faith — it rather strengthens it!

This is the task I'm committed to at the moment, and I won't stop. No matter what you think of it or …. of me.

This platform is my public journal – I have a ton of tips for reading here, but often, the heavy stuff is about Christianity at the intersection of social systems and Contemporary African society.

I’m PhDing at Yale Uni. Cheers 👏🏾👏🏾

--

--

Paa Kwesi

My public journal if you'd like–often about books, people and social systems.