25 Days of Holiday Self-Care — Appreciate the Beauty — Day 15

Patricia Bumpass
2 min readDec 15, 2021
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.” ~ Ashley Smith

During the hustle and bustle of the season, stop and take a moment to appreciate the beauty of the season.

All the festive lights, deer launching from front lawns or rooftops, trees decorated with ornaments, and lights that twinkle in windows. I dare not forget the family of snowmen lining the yards.

Life can be frustrating.

Sometimes you need to stop and look around.

Find something of beauty to reground and refocus you and your mind.

Every year, my son and I will get in the car and ride around town and look at all the holiday decorations and lights. There is a neighborhood way back down a little country road not far from where we live where all the houses on that road decorate and put on a light show.

Secretly, I think they are trying to outdo each other.

In any case, it is something wonderous riding down that long winding road taking time to look at the lights and take pictures. People come out of their homes and stand in their yards bundled in coats, hats, sweaters, and gloves.

They wave and offer us hot cocoa.

I admit, the first time my sister suggested we go see this show of lights, I was skeptical. Once we got there I was mesmerized.

By the time we had circled around to the main highway, I was excited by the beauty of the lights and in awe at the fact that an entire neighborhood had put together this show for the benefit of others.

The other side effect of taking time to appreciate the beauty is that I felt calmer because I focused on something other than the irritations of the day.

I challenge you to take a moment to find the beauty of the season.

It’s all around you.

You’ll feel much better and able to handle those minor or major frustrations that plague your day.

Share your beautiful finds in my Facebook group, A Cup of Positivity.

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. . . Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.” ~ Ashley Smith

--

--

Patricia Bumpass

Freelance health and wellness writer, author, and card deck creator who believes women are the superheroes of the world. It’s time for women to reconnect with w