January 1st, 2017 was an epic day tbh.

Peace Itimi
2 min readDec 30, 2017

--

I remember that just before we went to church for crossover service, I was speaking with xxx over the phone and our conversation was on how we will stop talking to eachother after that particular call.

We had been friends for only 2weeks but in that time, our lives had taken epic turns. We didn't need an intervention to realize that the friendship was not going to work out and so we were going to call it quits at that point and move on.

We did say our goodbyes and both went to church.

But then, at midnight; when the crowd in church started the happy new year greetings - as I pressed send on my phone to text xxx, I got a similar text - HAPPY NEW YEAR. Same person I said Good bye to, a few hours ago. SMH in retrospect!

…Got back home, had a long phone call and thus began a year of Goodbyes and Hellos every a month or two. Lol! It's funny how through out the year we will talk for weeks and then not talk for a month or two, then come back, talk for another 2/3weeks, then not talk for another month or two.

In a weird way, this friendship has been a highlight - not because of the drama but because of the love and solace it brought occasionally, because of the weirdness, oddness, newness and all around 'wrongness' - and because of the drama too.

I hope in 2018, we will both finally have the guts to say Goodbye or maybe find a way to hit a compromise - a very neutral, less toxic, less dramatic compromise.

"To XXX; Xoxo!"

#ChroniclesofXXX

--

--

Peace Itimi

My Mission in life is to Grow People and Grow Businesses. • I do Digital Marketing, I Train, & sometimes I write • Co-founder @renedigitalhub @mutareclan