An Interview with Pearl Lam and Mr Doodle

In episode five of The Pearl Lam Podcast, the iconic gallerist Pearl Lam meets the infamous British Artist, Sam Cox. In this episode, Sam Cox, who is better known as Mr Doodle, reveals to Pearl Lam how his love of doodling began.

The Pearl Lam Podcast
3 min readDec 7, 2023

The latest episode of Pearl Lam’s The Pearl Lam Podcast, revealed much unexpected insight about the role that teachers can play in shaping people’s lives. In the episode, Mr Doodle opened up to Pearl Lam (林明珠) about his heart-warming friendship with his High School art teacher.

Sam Cox, who is better known as Mr Doodle, was born in Kent in 1994. His passion for doodling began at the age of three, when he turned his love for cartoons into his first creative scribbles. Mr Doodle became a self-proclaimed ‘obsessive compulsive doodler’ at the age of fifteen.

After studying illustration at University, Mr Doodle’s unique artistic style, which is described as ‘graffiti spaghetti’, started to gain recognition.

Mr Doodle is a now a social media sensation with over 3 million followers on Instagram, where he showcases his artwork.

Pearl Lam (林明珠) is currently representing Mr Doodle at Pearl Lam Galleries in Hong Kong. Pearl Lam’s gallery will turn into the next epic battleground between Mr Doodle, his wife Mrs Doodle and their evil doodle enemy, Mr Scribble. Mr Doodle’s mission to return his beloved Doodle Land to peace this time takes place in space. The exhibit in Pearl Lam Galleries is aptly named Mr Doodle in Space.

During this episode of The Pearl Lam Podcast, Mr Doodle revealed to Pearl Lam that his High School Art teacher had been an extremely positive influence in his life.

“None of my family members are into art”, Mr Doodle told Pearl Lam (林明珠).

He continued, “but when I was about fifteen years old, my art teacher showed me all these different street artists and pop artists. That was when I realised that you could actually do this kind of thing for a career.”

“From then on, I started to see art in a totally different way, and I started to put everything I could into trying to make it work.”

Pearl Lam then informed the audience that “Mr Doodle’s old art teacher, Morgan, is now the artistic director of Mr Doodle’s studio. He’s now advising Mr Doodle’s studio on many things.”

Sam exclaimed enthusiastically to Pearl Lam that “me and Morgan would always talk, even after I left school. We’d text each other and I’d send him pictures of the latest animations that I’d been making.”

“He’d always try and advise me and give me suggestions” Sam continued, “he’d push me to try and reach the next level.”

So, how did Mr Doodle’s High School teacher become the artistic director of the Mr Doodle studio?

“One summer holiday, I asked Morgan if he was looking forward to returning to school” said Mr Doodle.

“He said he was looking forward to seeing the kids, but that admin always got on his nerves.”

“I told him that if he fancied a change, my studio would love to work with him.”

Pearl Lam then asked Mr Doodle how his old art teacher’s new job was going.

Sam replied, saying that “it’s really cool because he doesn’t feel like my teacher anymore. He’s more like a friend now and we get along really well.”

“I love that” Pearl Lam replied.

In episode five of the Pearl Lam Podcast, Sam Co certainly illustrates how meaningful a teacher’s support can be to any student.

Written by: The Producer, The Pearl Lam Podcast

To stay up to date with the latest developments in the Pearl Lam story, please follow Pearl Lam on YouTube, Twitter and LinkedIn and subscribe to The Pearl Lam Podcast.

--

--

The Pearl Lam Podcast

This is the official companion blog of The Pearl Lam Podcast, the official podcast of Pearl Lam (林明珠), Founder of Pearl Lam Galleries.