Queen Charlotte: Rough Edges

Prathika Sukumar
2 min readJul 3, 2023

--

Season 1, Episode 4

Image from Show Snob

Hello, lovelies! If you are like “Oh girl, we are way ahead of your reviews and recaps”, I am so sorry. I’ll speed up for sure. I was kind of in a writing slump. THANK GOD it was just a slump. I mean I am writing show reviews so there is no way for me to go back into writer’s block. For the readers on the other side that haven’t watched the episode yet, you have once again come to the right place.

Here are my other recaps if you haven’t gotten to them yet: Episodes 1, 2, and 3.

And just so you know, spoilers ahead.

Scratching Noises

The previous episode ended with scratching noises in the Queen’s chamber, and this episode makes a big revelation. It is none other than our very own King George. Turns out King George isn’t anything close to the a-hole we thought he was at the end of the first episode. Although we got to know the great gentleman he was in the later episodes, this episode tells us why he left the Queen to stay by herself and spend their honeymoon in depressing solitude, and the reason he was secretly seeing the physician that’s not the royal physician. King George has severe Bipolar Disorder (from what it looks like, even though the show doesn’t mention a name), which possibly could have been induced by the strict conditions of the “royal environment”. The reason he pushed Queen Charlotte away was that he didn’t want to hurt her and wanted to get better for her. He was at Kew, putting himself through constant gruesome treatments. Oh, how I love men written by women!

Royal Ladies Talk

This entire episode is a detailed vision of King George’s mental illness history and the treatments that he had undergone. Queen Charlotte visits Princess Augusta after Brimsley and Reynolds refuse to tell what’s going on with the King. Princess Augusta defends herself for not telling Charlotte about the King’s mental condition before the royal wedding and continues to keep the truth from the Queen.

The Fishy Physician

I do not know if it is just me or everybody that watches this show finds the physician’s activities to be very fishy. It is also the look on his face.

I am aware that this recap is very short because of how this episode was structured. See y’all in a day or two (I promise).

--

--