Comeback to Notion

Productivity Core
4 min readMar 3, 2022

--

In the last few months I’ve been an avid user of Obsidian and, without a doubt, it’s an app that, from the point of view of notes and linking ideas, and the speed at which it operates is much higher than Notion.

However, the absence of a free web version and the multiple ways to view it have driven me to return to Notion. At the same time, Notion, when loaded with a lot of information, tends to become slow and doesn’t handle very well with the excess of information that my ambition has demanded.

Before migrating, I tried to design a puzzle to bring the benefits of linking thought obsidian inside Notion and it went something like this.

What did i use?

The first question that moved me was what kind of information I have been consuming. Starting from the Second Brain principle that all knowledge has/can have some function, the first step I thought about was what kind of information I consume. I came to the listing of audiovisual information, such as youtube videos, movies, documentaries, tv series. Audio only podcasts. Text I separated between the articles that I save from the RSS of short articles that I save in the Instapaper. And the densest information from the academic environment, such as academic books and articles.

information databases

All tables need at least a date when the product was consumed, name and type. Online stuff like instapaper, youtube video and podcast have the file link. Longer products like books and TV series have a start and end time.

Licorice Pizza on video database line

How to connect the informations?

The connection takes place from two points:

🔗themes: every data is interconnected by at least some keyword and within the review its possible to create more complex interconnections.

neoplatonism on theme database

💭 I still haven’t figure out a conclusion on how I’m going to organize the theme files internally, but I’ll possibly use internal subthemes together with the sync blocks function of Notion with the original file

internal connections idea

⏰time: the second database used to link the reviews is a time link. This data I particularly took from August Bradley, as a fundamental way to fulfill the week, month and year review function.

Example: both, the movie Nomaland + and my movie considerations , and the article Dot Dot Dot Dot Dot​ by Jackson Arn + my considerations, deal in some way with the theme particular to the USA. At the same time that they address themes that dialogue with other works, such as the theme of the essay. I don’t need to do a review showing how they connect. The important thing is that I know that both deal with the same theme, and to know specifically how they deal, I go inside each file to see what i wrote about.

example of possible connections

General structure

main databases

The intention is, inside each file contained in each database, there is some consideration of mine, especially in the database as a library, where, in my case, it condenses all my academic reading reviews that I did for my master thesis.

Next steps:

Two challenges are on my horizon:

(1) see how the notion will handle when I start to include a lot of information;

(2) how to articulate this amount of information in a scheme of goals and projects. Until then I organized as August Bradley PPV System, but I think I don’t need so much demand and I should let go of a little neurotic excess of self-control.

But it is essential that: they are articulated around the interests that I seek to deepen; are easily accessible from any location I access.

--

--

Productivity Core

Brazilian philosopher writing about productivity and study tips