How To Be An Awesome Meditator. 7 Easy Ways.

Purusha Radha
7 min readSep 29, 2023

--

Meditation soothes and calms our bodies, minds and spirits bringing order and serenity where once was chaos. And truly, meditation is a journey: how you meditate can evolve magnificently–imprinted with your own signature. Perhaps my decades long journey can offer you insights on how to be an awesome meditator.

Some time ago now, my life was a real mess. I suffered as a child of alcoholic parents. Even though I wasn’t an addict I displayed almost all the symptoms of one. In my misery I made bad decisions and cried every day.

I’d heard that meditation was key to serenity so I bought a book on the subject. I committed myself to meditating nightly before I went to bed. And I tried but I kept falling asleep. I figured I was doing it wrong and I gave up in search of a teacher.

And through a series of serendipitous events I found Barbara who took me under her wing.

Barbara turned out to be much more than a meditation teacher to me. She was also wayshower, confidant, mother healer and friend. When I first met her she took one look at me and led me into her energy healing room. Now I would finally begin clearing my traumas.

1) You may be unable to clearly meditate because your mind is running on trauma. Find a first rate energy healer to assist you.

It helped me enormously and can only help you too. Just be sure you don’t idolize this practitioner. Remain your own person. Remember always that we are all equals.

Barbara worked on me in her healing room more times than I can remember. What a gift that was — afternoons of healing in the quiet sanctity of her healing chamber. Sunlight streamed in through the sheer curtains and sweet ambient music played in the background.

I was able to emerge from this period of time in my life stronger and more confident. I had clear direction now. And though I still had work to do my mind was much calmer.

My mind was so much more able now to receive the gifts of meditation.

If hurts and traumas plague you it will affect your clarity of mind. You may want to seek out an energy healer who has an excellent reputation.

2) Get yourself comfortable.

I began with the traditional way of meditation sitting up straight in a chair or with legs crossed. But I felt constricted.

So I started laying down flat on my bed, getting silent and still. I let my initial racing thoughts simply pass on by until I arrived at that space you want in mediation. It can only be described as the Void — pure serenity.

You may want to choose this method of just getting comfortable. Meditation should not be a chore or a contortion. Comfort creates ease and ease creates flow.

Just be sure you’re alert and not too tired. Laying down or getting super comfortable can sometimes encourage falling asleep.

3) There’s something about sweeping.

As I continued on my meditation journey, I found sweeping to be ever so calming. I would lapse into a meditative state after awhile and receive profound answers to questions I was having.

There’s just something about sweeping. It’s such a metaphor for wiping away the dirt and debris to make your grounding clean again.

Other manual tasks that become our joys in life can also provide fertile ground for meditation. Gardening is a good example. Many people find it not only therapeutic but introspective and meditative.

Don’t relegate meditation to only the upright sitting posture in stillness.

4) And fire-gazing too.

Gazing into a fire can be almost hypnotic. Whether it’s a roaring bonfire or a solitary candle flame, fire draws us inward.

Candle gazing is a centuries-old yoga called trataka. It’s a purification practice in which you stare at a single point, in most cases, a candle flame. This focuses and opens the third eye or ajna chakra assisting you to become more insightful.

When we gaze into the leaping or flickering flames we connect with our own Light. Fire gives us more Light. Bring it in to your auric field, that electromagnetic field that vibrates around your body.

In your altered state, watch for images and feel for impressions. This is the Divine communicating to you through the fire.

5) Allow your energy to flow. Move your body in freeform dance and find your meditative state.

As I got happier, I started dancing — just freeform style. I let my Spirit go free. If I was in my meditation group, I chose not to care about what anyone else thought. I just closed my eyes and went for it.

You can get into the meditative state through dance. Your Spirit wants to fly and dancing is pretty darn close. You express pure abandon from the belly of your soul. And then comes joy that aligns with the perpetually natural state of your Oversoul.

When you can be by yourself, turn on music you love and dance. Let your body follow the promptings of your soul. Then listen and feel. You will truly receive Divine messages and insights that meditation brings.

6) Similar to dance, chant.

Soon I discovered singing the Names of God in Hindu chanting. It turned my chattering mind off and I went into the meditative state.

Whenever you chant the Names of God or mantras in a sacred language, you bypass the altered ego mind. You get to go pretty quickly to that holy place I’ve called the Void.

During long periods of chanting, you fluctuate with different speeds, so to speak, of singing. You’ll sing slowly for awhile and then accelerate the chant for another period of time. The peaks and valleys of energy you create by chanting like this for 45 minutes or so takes you to such beautiful places within — even ecstasy.

My favorite ecstatic vocalist to sing with is Jai Uttal. Another I love is David Newman.

See for yourself. Give it a try and at the same time learn about the deities and the Names of God.

7) The walking meditation is sublime and offers you very many gifts.

Whenever I was upset in the early days of my spiritual journey I’d go out at and just walk. My head held down and shoulders slumped, I remember one night a man called to me from his balcony,

“Come on. It can’t be that bad.”

It was only then I realized I was doing it all wrong. I needed to let God the Infinite speak to me on these walks — not my monkey mind.

So I turned it all around. I straightened my body and breathed. I looked up at the beautiful night sky and began to appreciate. The longer the walk the better it was. It gave me enough time to come to my center.

Walk in the evening.

Meditation while walking requires you to be as alone as possible. In the evening, you won’t encounter too many other people on your walk. The energies of the people are also calming down as everyone gets ready for bed.

Appreciate and receive the energies of nature, especially the trees.

There’s a reason why the Japanese avidly practice Shinrin-yoku (forest bathing). The trees, in fact, all of nature wants to share their knowledge and energy with you.

You can go to a nature preserve or park but you can simply walk in your neighborhood.

Consciously connect with the trees. Engage with nature using more than your five senses. Allow your sixth sense to open and receive. Open yourself to the true 99% of creation—what is invisible and unseen by normal superficial sight.

Remain silent or speak softly to yourself the insights you receive. Walk at the pace you feel to walk.

This is meditation too. You wouldn’t think so but nighttime walks in your neighborhood are perfect for meditation.

On these walks (and it doesn’t just come from the trees) I’ve received insights for my business that proved highly successful. I’ve been guided to make decisions and I’ve been shown supernatural truths.

When you gaze at nature, connect and become one with it.

Focus on the sunrise or sunset. Look up at the moon. Take in the energy of the silvery moonlight reflecting on the pavement at full moon time. Zero in on the music of the toad chorus in the creek, the cicadas and crickets too.

Become one with all of it, by your intention and presence. You are truly meditating now.

Anything sacred is free and wants to soar.

Don’t let dogmatic gurus persuade you that meditation must only look one way or their way. There’s no one-size-fits-all anywhere in life, including the spiritual life. You are unique and so should be your spiritual practice.

Though we’re often taught what is sacred is confined and rule-bound, the opposite is true. We know truth by how a thing feels to us. Restrictive, tight and super-regimented does not feel good.

What does feel good is liberation and the ability to soar as high as we want to go.

Let your meditation practice flow, evolve and become a reflection of you.

Purusha Radha
Starseed, time traveler, writer
Site:
https://bio.site/stargatesbeckon
Subscribe at my site for bi-weekly spiritual insights.
Email me
My Conscious Time Travel Book

--

--