Taking the Road Less Traveled: The Very Essence of Living a Life Ablaze with Wonder and Adventure

Purusha Radha
5 min readOct 25, 2023

--

If I’m driving somewhere of any distance, I always take the back roads. They’re usually stunningly beautiful and much less traveled. It might take me longer to get there but the longer drive gives me a break from the frantic world out there.

I enjoy taking the back roads so much I ask myself,

Why aren’t other people doing it too?

There’s so much more to experience in the back roads. Full of nature, they’re quieter. They feel more intimate and friendly. It’s therapeutic.

Several years ago, my son’s father got in a terrible motorcycle accident. Over the course of six months in hospitals and rehab centers he arrested several times ending up in ICU.

He had no one to advocate for him other than my son and me. The drives to the hospitals were an hour or more from my home. And I faithfully visited him every single day except two for those six months.

When it came to driving to Orlando, it was just best that we took the toll highways. But when he was transferred out further to the coast to rehab hospitals, I took the back roads there and back. And this was for most of the six month stint.

I’ll never forget the day I drove up a quaint road to the beach at Ormond Beach. I had already experienced miles and miles of lush green and quieter people and here I saw a sight to behold. It was the icing on the cake.

Really big ocean waves were crashing on the shore creating big billowy clouds of iridescent foam. I’d never seen anything like it. I stopped my car and just took it all in.

These off the beaten track drives made the relentless six month hospital treks bearable, even rather enjoyable. I took in the fresher air. Tall evergreens formed passageways to drive through. They rejuvenated me.

Taking the back less traveled roads is a metaphor for living.

A long time ago, I read a fantastic book The Road Less Traveled,¹ twice, maybe three times. I don’t take the back roads because of that book but I often think of the book when I drive the roads.

This book spoke to me because since a little girl I’ve always done things differently than most people.

The book urges us to take alternative routes in life. They’re where we encounter bumps and potholes, including the possibility we might get lost. The author Peck shows how taking the often more challenging roads makes us more spiritually enlightened. It helps us grows in ways we can’t even imagine.

And to that I would add, the road less traveled is incredibly beautiful. Growth is beautiful. And so are the encounters you get to have along the way.

I believe this very strongly because I’ve seen it proven out in my life over and over again…

When everyone’s going in one direction, it’s pretty much a sign you should go the other way.

Most people aren’t conscious so why would you take their lead?

More like automatons than real live human beings, most people simply take orders and fall in line.

They’re weak minded and can be easily controlled. Unaware or in denial, people just don’t use their mental faculties and intuitive powers of discernment all that much.

Lots of us buy the boatload of lies the pharmaceutical and medical industries push.

We get marketed to all the time in ways that make us believe we’re only our bodies and nothing more.

The world programs us to think life is a superficial thing to be lived on the surface. Money, jewelry, fashion, cosmetics, cars, concerts, movies, big quantum-dot televisions, credit cards, investment accounts, gourmet food, wine…

If you take the ‘main roads’ all the time, you’ll likely end up in a stifling claustrophobic crowd, figuratively and literally.

Be the salmon swimming upstream. It flexes your spiritual muscles. It makes you be more, become more.

Contrary to the way most people say you should meditate, I take long walks at night to do so. Rarely do I encounter another person but I do experience the trees, the stars, the moon and the toads croaking.

You can choose something other than a 9 to 5 job. You really can. Just summon your creativity to come bubbling to the surface.

In my thirties, I chose to work for myself on my terms and I’ve done so ever since. I don’t have to get up on Monday mornings loathing going in to work in a job I don’t love. In fact, I just love Monday mornings.

If you have children, home school them. It’s the road less traveled and so good for your kids contrary to what snooty educators say.

I home schooled my son and created an at-home business to sustain us all the way through. My son started college when he was 16.

Who says you have to take the regular old roads of aging, sickness, death, scraping by to survive, and loneliness? Think about it.

They’re the ones who built those roads. They have a vested interest.

You’ve got a whole lot more untapped potential in your DNA and ‘they’ don’t want you to know that.

Why get in long lines for anything and then only to accept the mediocre?

“Everybody’s doing it” is not a good reason.

Be sovereign. Be a powerful person unto yourself and one who knows the roads less traveled bear all the gifts.

Slow down a little and take the back roads. You’ll actually get to your destination and in far better shape than the highway takers.

Breathe the fresher air. Go against the grain. Be different. Treat your inner self to new and grand experiences. And grow.

¹ Peck, M. Scott. The Road Less Traveled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth. United Kingdom, Touchstone, 1997.

Purusha Radha
Starseed, time traveler, writer
Site:
https://bio.site/stargatesbeckon
Subscribe at my site for bi-weekly spiritual insights.
Email me
My Conscious Time Travel Book

--

--