I Saw the Sign

Normalizing “Relationship Red Flag” Discussions with Loved Ones

Don’t you dare apologize because you didn’t know I was being abused.

When I escaped my abuser of five years, “M”, I was left with many damaged relationships due to his varied efforts to isolate me from my loved ones. This isolation was a control tactic and a method of ensuring I didn’t feel safe telling anyone about the abuse.

Trail marker with a left pointing arrow screwed into a tree
Healthy communication with loved ones during periods of isolation is akin to the overwhelming relief of finding a trail marker when you’re lost on a trail. You aren’t out of the woods yet, but suddenly you have a sign guiding your path back to safety. Photo by author: Veronica Wren

--

--

Veronica Wren - Trauma Sucks. Recovery Shouldn't.
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe here for your FREE exclusive guided journal ❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹 Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach