Linux Foundation vs LPI Certifications

Renato Mefi
2 min readSep 15, 2014

--

September 13th I did LFCS exam and I succeeded, I want to share with you some things, first of all, my certificate

Renato Mendes Figueiredo — Linux Foundation Certified System Administrator (LFCS)

Exam: LFCS Certification
Certification ID: LFCS-1400–0081–0100
Achieved/Renewed On: Sep 15th, 2014
Expires on: Sep 15th, 2016 (Renewal)
Your Score: 96%
Score Needed to Pass: 65%

LFCS vs LPI

This is what some people are looking for, and I believe those certifications aren’t really different. I will not discuss about practical vs non-practical exams. I do agree with Andrew Mallett opinion in this case: http://theurbanpenguin.com/wp/?p=3169

I cannot discuss about inside information and questions, please read candidate Handbook before exam.

LFCS pros

  • Better Website and Exam integration
  • LVM and Raid domains included

LFCS cons

  • Expensive and short expiring date
  • Innovative Exams plugin is not plug and play, took more than 15 minutes to proctor be able to see me and I checked everything before the exam
  • Domains are barely explained, if compared to LPI where you know every topic, weight, commands, contents

Neutral

I do prefer Pearson Vue while doing my exams, but doing it at home is also good, I believe by doing it in a training center provides you more silence and all required software and hardware to do your exam making things easier.

LPIC-1 pros

  • You know exactly what content to study, there are a lot of books and LPI website is very detailed
  • Its harder and domains are more complex

Exam preparation

I believe if you already are a LPIC-1 certified, you just need to review LFCS domains and do some tests, and then you will be ready.

I was really afraid to do it, mostly because I’ve never done a practical exam and because Website nor Candidate Handbook weren't clear about the exam’s content, and you’ll find nothing on internet, because we are prohibited to give information about exam itself and the exam itself is quite new.

Please ask your question in the comments, I’ll be happy to help you!

Update:

I’ve done the LFCE level, please check the blog post here: https://medium.com/@renatomefi/linux-foundation-certified-engineer-fc347f097ef6

--

--

Renato Mefi

ZCE, ZCPE, ZFCE, LPIC-1, LFCS, LFCE Professional. a.k.a.: A guy who loves linux and software development! https://github.com/renatomefi