QAE to Cybersecurity: Part 1

Rex Ogunka
2 min readMay 19, 2024

--

I recently started my journey to become a cybersecurity expert and this is how it has been going so far, if you missed my previous post here’s the link to catch up Senior QA Engineer on the path to Cybersecurity

Halfway through my cybersecurity course, and I’m already feeling like a pro! It’s been a mix of challenging topics and cool reminders, The biggest challenge? Balancing this with my full-time Senior QA Engineer job. To top it off, One of my teammates just switched teams, so I’m covering for her too. It’s been intense, but I’m determined to hit those daily learning goals.

So, what awesome cybersecurity secrets have I unlocked so far? We’ve been decoding the secrets of cybersecurity, including:

  • The 8 essential CISSP areas for online safety
  • SIEM tools, the fancy security guards that monitor network activity
  • OWASP principles for building strong defences against cyber threats
  • Security audits, like giving a network a thorough checkup
  • Playbooks, our battle plans for responding to cyberattacks

The course is almost over, and I’m excited about new adventures! I am still quite unsure what to try next. Maybe I’ll try ethical hacking (penetration testing) or specialize in cloud security. But first, I’m considering getting my CompTIA Security+ certificate… we’ll see how that goes!

Oh, and I also brushed up on my Linux commands and SQL skills, the secret languages for talking to computers. Overall, this has been an incredible journey so far, and I can’t wait to see what’s next!

--

--

Rex Ogunka

Transitioning from “Fix it” to “Fortify it”… Senior QA Engineer on the path to Cybersecurity