2015, huh?

A third run through my personal checklist, just in case I forgot anything.

Raymond
4 min readDec 26, 2015

It’s my third year taking this survey and all I got were these stupid answers.

The two previous surveys are here:
https://medium.com/@rfinz/its-a-new-new-new-new-year-7a48f8df9c45 | https://medium.com/@rfinz/ah-yes-2014-6f877d252028

And you can grab the blank survey here if you want to do it yourself: https://gist.github.com/rfinz/8143116

Personal Culture:

  1. What is your favorite band? Hiatus / Jon Hopkins
  2. What is the genre of music you listen to most? Electronic Dance with a focus on instrumental and chill variations
  3. What is your favorite pastime? Tinkering with computer art and interaction projects
  4. How do you spend most of your free time? Social media dissolves me and stirs me up. I temporarily lose my place in this universe and become one with the bits ]|[
  5. What is the most irksome thing in your day-to-day? Not having enough time
  6. What do you admire? Kindness without condition, work for work’s sake
  7. Where do you work? The University of Minnesota, for the College of Pharmacy
  8. Is there anywhere you’d rather work? Where? I’d rather work for NASA or for myself
  9. What do you do at work? Build web applications at the intersection of computer linguistics and pharmacy
  10. What would you rather do? I’d rather do complex algorithmic work or more work with virtual/physical interaction

Stress:

  1. What is your biggest source of stress? Work
  2. What scares you most about the future? Finding a vocation / work and lifestyle I love rather than put up with
  3. Do you think more about your present, past, or future? present / near future
  4. Do you actively combat your stressors, or keep your distance? I work to combat them, if I can ever suss them out
  5. Have you been successful in your life? Not yet.
  6. What is success? Finding your passion, living it fully, and earning the respect of your peers
  7. Does it feel like you have good friends that are a large part of your life? Yes, absolutely.
  8. Are there actually good friends that are a large part of your life? Yes, absolutely.
  9. Where did those friends, if any, come from? Some from college, some from high school, and many connections grown from connections
  10. Do you worry about money? Why? Yes, but only because progress is too wrapped up with money in my mind

Happiness:

  1. What is a hobby you would like to get in to? Hardware hacking / generative art
  2. What is one type of thing you would like to do more of? Exercise
  3. Who holds the most sway over your happiness? My loved ones
  4. What’s something that you’ve discovered to be enjoyable, recently? The Animated Gif
  5. Are you happier than the people around you on a daily basis? Yes, but I think it’s been a down year for people in general
  6. How much time do you spend actively engaged in an activity per day? 6 hours
  7. How much time do you spend with your mind wandering per day? 6 hours
  8. On a scale from 1 to 10, ten being most positive, how positive are your wandering thoughts? 6
  9. How often do you relax? Every couple weeks?
  10. What separates relaxation from the rest of your time? A sense of contentedness and pursuit of a thing for its own sake

Movement:

  1. Are you making progress towards your goals? Slowly.
  2. Are you living where you want to be living? Yes. I live in a great city with some of the greatest people available
  3. Do you often see the people you want to see? Yes, though my friends are getting to be far flung, a solid subset of the people I want to see are close at hand, and the rest are an excellent excuse to travel
  4. Are you in a job that is along your career path? Tangentially?
  5. Have you made enough money to finance your goals? For the most part, though more is always needed
  6. Are your friends successful? We’re all getting there!
  7. Are you a better person than you were before? I think so
  8. Would your loved ones say that you are a better person than you were before? I think they probably think that I peaked.
  9. Would your colleagues say that you are a good person? Hmm, maybe? Maybe social media dissolves me too often.
  10. What is your end goal? Live a life I love, and do something only I could have done.

Silly things:

  1. What’s your favorite toothpaste? Arm & Hammer with Peroxide
  2. How many pairs of pants do you own? 7
  3. Do you have any socks with holes in them? Yes
  4. Do you have a roommate? Yes- Jesse
  5. What is your favorite soda? Reed’s Ginger Brew
  6. What is your favorite liquor? Tanqueray Gin
  7. What do you read for fun? Classics, philosophy, and recommendations from my friends and family
  8. What is your favorite video game? World of Tanks
  9. What is your favorite T.V. show? Rick and Morty
  10. Are you on a diet? No…

--

--