Life as an Engineer: Choice

Cesario Putera
3 min readApr 1, 2017

--

Prerequisite : Read Dream

Hi guys, thanks for your very very very good response for my first writing, hence I will continue to the next chapter of my story :D

www.google.com

After that day, I always amazed by technology, I always thought about technology, nothing else. For some reason it was a bad thing for me. Yes, it was affected my life as a student.

I started to didn’t care about another subjects except ICT (Information and Communication Technology), it made my score in class went down. I always sat in Top 10 worst students in my class. I didn’t care about Science, Social, Civics, etc. But thanks to my dad (he was an Physic teacher before meet my mom), so it helped me in Math and Physic.

— Blood Will Tell

This habit continued until Senior High School, I never regret despite my score was bad. Problem arise, in last semester of SHS, I forced my brain to learn Biology, Indonesia and English since it were requisite for pass the University Entrance Exam. It was painful. LOL.
Before the exam started, twice a week, me and my dad always had discussion about what major would I choose. Of course, I will choose Computer Science, but my dad had different plan for me. He always encouraged me to choose Law.

Dad : Law is good for you, I can predict in next 10 years, Law will conquer the world. Everything needs Law. You will get everything that you want, because Law and Politics controlling the world
Me : Yes sir
My Heart : I don’t care about conquering the world, what I want is technology

Come to think, that was his wish, then I choose to set law and computer science as my option, whatever the result I would choose that. My expectation was, I would pass the Computer Science but not for Law :D.

Sh*t, I passed both, my father was excited to convinced me that Law is the best option. But my heart said otherwise. That was a hardest moment in my life, choose my father wish which is I didn’t like or follow my heart and bear all consequences.

A few weeks before university registration

Me : Dad, I would like to choose Computer Science in Del Polytechnic of Informatics.
Dad : Sure? Okay then.

Back then, I didn’t know, was that a good or not but at least I already told what I want.
A few weeks before first day college, me and My family choose to visit our village, Sipinggan, a little village near to Lake Toba in North Sumatra. There we met our family from another city who also came visit our village.

Uncle : Where will you continue your study?
Me : Computer Science in Del Polytechnic of Informatics.
Uncle : Great! That is a nice campus, the teachers are the best, the environment is good, far from any disruption (Del is in the middle of a remote area)

Our conversation was heard by my father, the my father keep asked my uncle about Del. After their conversation, my father was so proud because I went to college in Del. And he always showed off because his son went to college in Del.

I was so happy about that, since in the end my dad was proud with my choice :D

How about you guys? Was your life decided by your parents? Or yourself? How is it going? Please share in comment below

To be continued..

--

--

Cesario Putera

Google Certified Android Developer | Android Developer | Architecture Enthusiast