CS371p Fall 2022: Rithik Batchu

Rithik Batchu
2 min readOct 26, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I finished up the implementation of Allocator with my partner. We built the Iterator that iterated over the left sentinels of each of the blocks and returned the sentinel value. We also wrote the actual allocate and deallocate with coalescing and such. We also wrote all the test cases for the various methods as well as acceptance tests. I also attended lecture and learned more about various C++ containers.

What’s in your way?

There isn’t too much in my way, but it’s been a tough focusing on classes and other thing’s because I’ve been quite sick for the entirety of the past week. I hope I’ll recover soon so that I have energy to work on projects and such again.

What will you do next week?

This upcoming week, I’ll work on my projects for Cloud Computing and Computer Networks. We are building a simplified version of the sliding window algorithm for TCP connections in Networks and working with Pyspark in Cloud Computing. I’ll also be doing a lot of exam grading for the class I TA.

What did you think of Paper #9. The Dependency Inversion Principle?

I think it was quite interesting, but I do think it was very similar in content to some of the papers from previous weeks regarding the importance of abstraction and the separation between defining function and actual details and implementation.

What was your experience of Stack, explicit, and friend? (this question will vary, week to week)

I really enjoyed learning about the different containers and the efficient ways to build adapters using them! Building the stack for the exercise was really exciting. Learning about explicit and friend seemed a bit more in-the-weeds, but important nonetheless.

What made you happy this week?

I was happy that I was able to finish my previous Cloud Computing assignment on time because we weren’t able to start till late. I also got to play volleyball with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while, and I also got to try Hopdoddy’s for the first time.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to use a zsh shell or something similar if you’re on mac. The configuration and customizability is outstanding. It’s also really cool, because you can write you’re own scripts and then define aliases that run when the zsh shell starts up each time so you basically have custom commands.

--

--