Public Self-Humiliation in the Comments Section, Part II

Liberals believe liberal things or something, I dunno

Robert K Starr
5 min readSep 5, 2023
A man terrified of “him/his” pronouns
Image modified from Bing Image Generator Image

Someone in the comments section thought he was being clever again.

Let’s take this apart piece by piece.

Chris over here thinks he knows exactly what liberals believe. And when they correct him, he treats that as reinforcement that he’s correct and hit a nerve.

I realize this sounds like a strawman, but here’s his exact quote:

When a liberal claims someone who deals with them all the time are wrong about what they like and how they act, what they are really complaining about is that their opponents hit a nerve by identifying them correctly.

In a response, I thought, at first, he was somehow explaining why what he said was so ridiculous.

Nice try, Robert. That’s sort of like me accusing you of stealing when you didn’t, and then when you (rightfully) deny it, I hail that as “proof” that you were guilty! That’s a common game that people use to try to “trap” someone who is accused of something into a “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” situation.

Yes, that’s exactly what you’re doing, sir. I’m glad you noticed it and can correct yourself going forward.

If only it were that simple.

The thing is, it’s all about evidence.

If you provide actual evidence of me expressing belief in things that you accused me of believing, that is one thing. But if you do not, and make the same accusation based on mere biased supposition, that is another.

Okay…

He then proceeds to give examples.

When you display such fervent agitation at seeing any woman criticized for anything at all…

I have no problem with criticizing women. I criticize J. K. Rowling all the time, for instance. You’ll recall liberals retching in horror as we watched Amy Coney Barrett thrown into a supreme court judgeship (in an election year, no less). Perhaps you’re across the pond, no doubt you’ve heard liberals criticize Margaret Thatcher before, yes? I was just in Manchester about a year ago when Liz Truss was the subject of many a joke.

Maybe you want somebody outside of politics. I find Gwyneth Paltrow’s promotion of pseudoscience dangerous and disgusting and, if you want me to throw in a person of color, may I offer Oprah Winfrey, who is guilty of some of the same bilking of garbage products and also foisted Drs. Oz and Phil upon the unprepared public.

Aha, you say, but those are all people who aren’t in agreement with you. That’s why you’re able to criticize them.

Uhh… yeah, exactly.

That being said I try to avoid making fun of these people because they’re women. You may notice I make an effort to never use gendered slurs in my writing and, if you go back to 2008, you’ll find records of many a leftist criticizing other leftists for the way in which they were attacking Sarah Palin (I’m sure there are more recent examples of such things, but those are some of the most obvious ones I have access to in my memory bank currently).

Let’s continue.

when you make a point to include your pronouns in your profile

Yes, I include pronouns in my profile. So what?

Am I forcing you to include them in yours? No, but I think you should. Why? Because it’s the internet and sometimes genders can get confused here. I have a male name and present fairly masculine, but it doesn’t hurt to add a few more words to make it clear.

It also seems weird to only ask people who don’t present a clear gender to specify their pronouns.

Now, I suspect the real problem you have with pronouns is that you’re transphobic. And, indeed, in another comment, you say something about transgender people are rare and blah blah blah before going on to mansplain the best way to treat trans people with respect and compassion, which involves not giving them entitlements like, I imagine, being able to play team sports or use public restrooms or something.

In that same comment, you mention that people choose from thousands of available pronouns, which, again, I don’t see a problem with, but the overwhelming majority of the time, the only ones I’m seeing are he/him, she/her, or they/them. Unless it’s a conservative making an eye-rolling joke.

In my experience, it’s only been cis people who have whined about me listing my pronouns. And it never takes too long for them to say something pretty transphobic.

On a personal level, though, what I’ve found (and I haven’t done a formal study of this, so take it with a grain of salt) is that people who list their pronouns tend to not be dicks. They tend to want to be supportive of people who are more marginalized than they are and are more welcoming.

But you do you, man! If you don’t want to list pronouns, don’t. You’re only supporting my working hypothesis by refusing to do so.

Alternatively, throw a fit about them like this dude:

when you resort to ad hominems/name-calling instead of reasoned rebuttals

Guilty as charged, asswipe. Nobody owes you a response and, protip: If you want a reasoned rebuttal, you should probably say something reasonable in the first place. If you’re just parroting things that you read from your libertarian subreddit, why would I waste my time with it? I’ve got a dog to play with, a day job to do, and a romance novel to finish.

I won’t even waste the time explaining how you accusing us of resorting to ad hominem is an example of you building a strawman.

a sign that you cannot or have no inclination to control your emotions

Emotions are what make us human. Why on earth would we repress them? Feel what you’re going to feel — there’s an entire crayon box of feelings out there for us to experience and even the bad ones are an important part of life.

Now how we respond to our emotions is another thing entirely. And I refer you to the video posted above.

(SJWs think no emotional control is a good thing)

Literally no clue where you’re getting this from or what you can possibly even mean by it. Feel free to watch that guy playing a video game in the video above for a third time and come back to me.

all of which are notoriously well-known characteristics of SJWs/contemporary liberals — then saying I am inaccurate at identifying you as such is a clear case of having your nerves struck.

::shrug::

I’ve had my nerves struck before. This doesn’t feel like that at all. But I suppose you believe you know me better than I know myself.

--

--

Robert K Starr

Writer of screenplays and romance novels, but here I tend to focus on feminism and social justice-adjacent topics. I love my dog and also your dog.