Why Have I Invited This Person Into My Life?

Rui Zhi Dong
1 min readJan 9, 2020
Photo by Joel Mott on Unsplash

Whenever you’re spending a significant amount of time with a person, reflect on the reasons why. Ask yourself, Why Have I Invited This Person Into My Life?

What is it about that person that attracts you. That draws you. Think about the qualities. The way you feel. It’s also good to remember these things when you’re feeling upset or hurt at that person.

It’ll be revealing, not only about the person you’re spending time with but also about yourself.

Maybe it’s the way they listen to you. It makes you feel heard and they listen with care and love. Or you share a hobby that you can talk about for hours on end.

Listen to your intuition. It doesn’t need to be positive. It just needs to be the truth.

Perhaps it’s because they happen to be available and you don’t want to be alone. In which case, it might be worth asking the question, If I Truly Loved Myself, Is This Something I Would Do?

Sometimes it’s better to be alone than filling your time with people you don’t really care for.

Ask yourself, Why Have I Invited This Person Into My Life?

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.