What I Talk About When I Talk About Running in the Early Early Early Morning. Did I mention “Early”?

Gabriele
2 min readOct 18, 2016

--

I have to be out in the early morning at least once a week to reach the minum number of weekly workout that keeps my inner balance.

After several months of this routine one should think this comes quite naturally to me. Nothing is more wrong than that. Running in the very early hours of the day should be banned. It should be made unlawful. It is, for sure, one of the few things which can be declared against the Big Laws of Nature. This is true and yet I still insist doing it and so do a great deal of runners. But be clear on that, the only true reason is simple: no alternatives.

The only certainty is you won’t have time to run for the rest of the day so run now or forget about it. Unfortunately a definition of now in this context is “well before 06.00 AM”.

The first 3 kilometers (a bit less than 2 miles) my thoughts are confused and I just hear little voices telling me why I am supposed to torture myself this way. Invariably this thoughts changes dramatically throughout the run. By the end of the workout I am always happy for such demonstration of will power. Amazing. I always follow this pattern.

Obviously this happy ending has no effect whatsoever on the next iteration, where I have to muster my energies once again to wake up extra early. So I’m always falling in the same loop. A loop of hate and love, all within me. How many mixed emotions for a simple workout!

And that’s my rant because tomorrow I have to go out running extra early, maybe.

--

--