It’s about time I updated you all right?! Or maybe you’re a bit bored of my cancer updates?!

Ruth Gilbey
3 min readApr 11, 2018

--

On April 24th last year (almost a year ago now) I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 2 breast cancer (ER 8, PR8 HER 2 negative). I have recently completed my year long treatment and can thankfully say I’m cancer free. I say that with a lot of hesitation when I should really be jumping for joy!

I am really happy (and a bit stunned!) that it’s over but I’m getting used to this “new normal”. I’ll be checked every few months now for the foreseeable future, but I’m pleased I will be checked, I’m in good hands.

What treatment did I have?

I’ve had 8 rounds of chemo (4 EC and 4 Docetaxel)

15 rounds of Radiotherapy

And then on the 9th March 2018 I had a mastectomy, sentinel node biopsy and had an expander implant put in place.

1 day after my surgery and wearing the Inga Wellbeing pyjamas that Cat Davies bought me which are a must if you want to look and feel good whilst in hospital!

It’s unusual to have treatment in that order but everyone’s cancer is different, and everyone responds differently to the treatment. My neutrophil count dropped, which can happen after chemo. I’m feeling well despite this and they’re slowly going back up so things are heading in the right direction.

So far the results from the surgery are amazing, I know it’s early days (and I’m still recovering) but it really is amazing what surgeons can do for women having breast surgery now.

I was going to have a longer surgery (a DIEP flap) where tissue would be taken from my tummy but they decided after all the waiting and numerous surgery cancellations (5 in total — due to my low neutrophills) it was probably best to go for the surgery with the shorter recovery. I could have the DIEP flap in the future, but so far I’m pretty please with my new boob :))

I won’t list how many scans, hospital visits, counselling sessions, and appointments I’ve had but I’d say combined the count would be in the hundreds. Having treatment for cancer almost becomes a way of life!

What’s next?

I’m now on a medication that stops me producing oestrogen as my cancer was a hormone fed cancer. I’m on daily exemestane, monthly Zoladex injections, and once every 6 months I will have Zoledronic Acid. It’s still belts and braces to keep the cancer from coming back.

Just re-read all that and I’m like “F*ck did that really happen”?!

Thank you

I can’t thank you all enough for all your support, it’s got me through this. There are just too many people to thank but I plan on spending most of 2018 and beyond saying thank you :))

Oh and one last VERY important thing

Please check and get to know your breasts regularly, and if you spot anything different a lump, a rash, pain ANYTHING please just get it check just in case. 1 in 8 women are now diagnosed with breast cancer but if caught early the treatment can be a lot more straightforward. Also get to know the signs and symptoms of breast cancer so you are 100% clear on what to look out for, I certainly wasn’t as breast aware as I should have been.

--

--