#RuthsPlaylist — beating breast cancer with a kick-ass, feel-good playlist

Ruth Gilbey
4 min readSep 6, 2017

--

This post was last updated on 13th September 2018.

I wanted to thank everyone who has donated, submitted a song and spread the word about the campaign. 😘

Here’s a pretty awesome update for you.

We have had over 140 playlist entries (wowsers). That’s over a 9-hour playlist now😀

Check out this playlist on Amazon Music:

Check out this playlist on Amazon Music: Ruth’s Playlist https://music.amazon.co.uk/user-playlists/27592941784548c397872ab2827bdf34engb?ref=dm_sh_9WjpBaYgflrj0W4sOkGpMOpAb

We’ve raised over £8000. This includes gift aid, my £250 donation, cheques and donations to the Just Giving Page. How amazing is that? Thank you again.

Read Ruth’s story JustGiving — the easiest way to fundraise and donate to charity onlinewww.justgiving.com

And some other great news

I asked my surgeon last week if she’s looked at my recent scan and she said:

“ Yes you’ve had a pretty exceptional response to the treatment and we can’t see any cancer on your scan now”.

Amazing eh?

I still need to complete my treatment and have the same surgery, chemo and radiotherapy. But it’s going to be much easier getting to the finish line with that news under my belt.

I’m still continuing the campaign and want to run it up to a fundraising event in December. The event is for the Digital Mums #DMCollective. They are a group of talented women who helped inspire this campaign, which I’m proud to say I am one of. We’re going to play some of the playlist at the event.

So for anyone who hasn’t submitted a song (or if you’d like to submit another one). Here’s the details again on why I’m doing this and how you can get involved.

Why am I raising money?

As many of you know already I was diagnosed with breast cancer in May 2017. I’m currently undergoing a year-long treatment plan. As of September 2017 I’m three quarters the way through my eight cycles of chemotherapy. 2 left to go now — I’m on the home stretch people.

I’ve written two blogs about my experience, one about my diagnosis and an update about reaching the halfway point.

After chemo, the next stage for me is 9 hours of surgery. And this is where you come in…

How can you help?

I am planning to surprise my surgeon with an epic nine-hour-long playlist for her to listen to while performing my surgery. But I need your help.

Suggest a song and donate a minimum of £2 to the Helen Rollason Cancer Charity (who have been invaluable in supporting me through my treatment).

It was my surgeon who actually told me my diagnosis, and I was lucky that she has the best bedside manner ever. She took as much time as I needed to answer my questions and reassure me. She even managed to make me laugh (through bucket loads of tears).

I remember vividly at our third appointment her explaining the nine-hour surgery to me and how she liked to listen to music while doing her surgeries.

She then suggested I made a playlist for her, along with my six-year-old twin boys. Nine hours? That’s about 150–200 songs, right? Perhaps she only meant a short playlist, but I thought I’d surprise her with a ‘help me (and her) stay positive’ playlist.

I thought about how much music helps us through those difficult times. How recently I’ve blasted music in my car and danced round the house to get me through this tricky period. Well it’s better than hiding under the duvet, right?

How’s it all going to work?

This is primarily an Instagram campaign but you can submit an entry to me on Twitter or Facebook too.

Tag me @ruth_gilbey with your submission.

Use the hashtag #RuthsPlaylist

(Remember if your account is set to private I won’t get notified of your entry.)

Donate a minimum of £2 per playlist submission to my JustGiving page.

The way you submit your entry is up to you — video, quote of the lyrics, anything you like. Flex those creative skills! But make sure you tell me what the song means to you in the caption.

Each week on Instagram I will suggest a different category, such as Dance, 80s, songs from the last decade. I’m open to suggestions. But you don’t have to stick with these categories submit your favourite songs, anything you like. But make it positive please!

I’ll be reposting the entries on my Instagram account (tagging and crediting you of course). So by the end of the #RuthsPlaylist campaign we will have a visual playlist.

I will also create an actual playlist on Amazon Music #RuthsPlaylist if you’d like to hear it, rather than look at it.

If you’re not on Instagram you can submit your playlist entry to me via Twitter:

Tag me on Twitter @ruth_gilbey

Make sure you add the hashtag #RuthsPlaylist

I hope you’ll get involved, and I look forward to receiving your entries. Here’s mine to get things started.

This week I’m suggesting best songs from the last decade

#RuthsPlaylist #DMCollective #Playlist #JustGiving #WorkThatWorks #favouritesong #floorfillers #HelenRollason #FeelGoodMusic #FeelGood #happysongs #happy #StayPositive #BeatingBreastCancer #BreastCancer #CancerSupport #DigitalMums #DigitalMum #SocialMediaManager #bestsongs #bestplaylist #lastdecade

--

--