Internship at Jotform | Week 2

Samet Arda Erdogan
3 min readJul 2, 2022

--

Hi, I’m Arda, I started my 4-week internship program as a Data Analyst Intern at Jotform on June 20. I will share my experiences, feelings, and thoughts with you objectively every week.

You can reach my previous post here ‘Internship at Jotform | Week 1’

Last week was orientation week. I had the chance to get to know Jotform and its products closely. It gave me a very valuable domain expert ability. Because I had to know the company, products, and customers very well in the analysis I would do for Jotform.

The project chosen for me was to create a “Page Funnel” through the Jotform Pricing page. The primary purpose of this project — “What steps do customers come to Jotform Pricing Page take?” — “Is there a common pattern they apply before purchasing?” to find answers to questions such as.

Since this project had not been done before, I had an unknown road ahead of me, but we are approaching the end of this project by brainstorming with my mentor and asking good questions to the data. Normally, it is envisaged to be a 1-month project, but I think we will finish it in a much shorter time.

Getting Started with the Project…

Since the project is a “Page Funnel” project, I had to learn about the funnel concept first. But it was already explained by the growth team during the orientation week. So I was no stranger to the subject.

Then I started analyzing my dataset. My data set consisted of about 6 million rows, so I made my analysis by taking subsamples from the dataset. After the analysis was finished, I applied my analysis to most of the data set and analyzed the results.

Although I struggled for hours..

I couldn’t develop a funnel as I expected. That’s why my Mentor and I thought a “Sankey Diagram” would make much more sense. And I’m currently working on this diagram.

What technologies did I use?

  • Python
  • Pandas: Data Manipulation
  • Numpy: Matrix Operations, Advanced operations
  • Matplotlib, Seaborn: Visualization to better understand data
  • Plotly: Sankey Diagram

500+ run-times per day

I’m working on Jupyter-lab and I couldn’t sleep without doing 500 run-time codes daily. I made too many mistakes, too many times I thought I was successful but I was wrong, I went way off track and I realized it after a long time. I have experienced all of this a lot this week and I believe it has given me a real experience.

Friday night beer & Party!!

I have completed the first work week of my life with the tiredness of a hectic and challenging week. After all, one beer can really take away all the tiredness. The weekend is calling me to the party!

Working at Jotform is great! To be an intern here is very enjoyable, very productive, and very challenging. Every day I feel more developed than the day before. This is what I expected from an internship.

--

--