Anchoring

Possibility Mindset — Day 45

Sangam Napit
1 min readJan 2, 2018

Our behaviors are much more influenced by the environment than we think or would like to believe.

According to Dan Ariely, a professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics, our first perception lingers in our mind, affecting later perceptions and decisions.

The Anchoring Effect might be one of the reasons why failure is so influential and perseverance is so difficult.

The first time we fail, how we feel lingers in our mind and affects our ability to take action in the future.

In my experience, the weight of my feelings are usually directly proportional to how much I prioritize an outcome.

I have noticed that if I focus on process more than outcome the affects on later decisions are less.

And, if I focus on who I become instead of what happens to me, it’s much easier to persevere, take action, embrace failure, and immerse in experiences.

To possibilities!

Related Posts

Once

Principles

Picks

--

--

Sangam Napit

Sharing daily thoughts on adopting an abundance mindset.