Again, I decide to publish Morning Pages

~ Sarah D ~
8 min readMar 24, 2023

Yet again I publish morning pages on medium.

And so I just woke up in the morning. Had a relaxing night’s sleep, and now just hanging loose, wondering what or how to do the next best thing. I totally love the idea of writing morning pages, it indeed is something I enjoy writing, let alone my imagination flows freely.

Yesterday had its own unique challenges. I woke up in the morning and made a decision. You know sometimes when you are faced with choices, you may do either one of them, based on your feelings. I feel like if I decided to do something in the morning, it all depends on whether I remained true to them throughout the day because then those base feelings have not changed, and that might even provide direction for life,

Morning Pages have a beauty all their own. Not having any strict rules, I grew to love writing morning pages after I attempted them once or twice in the past and found that I seemed to be so awesome at writing them. I started what is known as some sort of ‘mind dump’ emptying the contents of your mind to fill the page while giving it some sort of artistic angle.

Another thing that’s been on my mind lately, is getting enough sleep. As someone who has been watching several workshops about getting enough sleep and healthy habits, I have been trying to get at least a few hours of sleep each night.

Better believe it but the effect has been wonderful, with me having better skin, performing better energy-wise, and being happier and more peaceful throughout the day. I have never felt better, given that restful sleep should be a necessity, not an option!

I also have been watching my diet. It’s been hard to stick to this one because it’s hard to stick to eating healthy. It’s strange but the words ‘Stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit, would ring true.’ I feel like I had been eating healthy, but I only started to lose weight until a couple of days ago, when the number on the scale started to budge, and I was starting to see a positive change.

With all the thoughts I have been having about being some sort of a runner, the comment I read the other day about having a runner’s legs needs to be considered carefully. I know I would never ever compete professionally unless maybe it would be at attempting the 5k Marathon, I would like to be a trail runner or just someone who commits themselves to run at least a couple of kilometers each day.

For that eating habits have to be disciplined, and you need to figure in some aerobic exercise as well. Slowly but surely, you start to feel your body getting stronger. I feel like possibly I can withstand the barrage of negative thoughts that come one’s way when one decides that he wants to avoid eating what everyone else is eating.

I have my reasons for doing so, and I feel that what I have learned in my personal journey has helped me. I feel like people who say things like ‘enjoy the treats when you are young because when you are older you will not be able to enjoy them’ can be ignored for a bit, because right now I’m feeling so awesome when I look in the mirror and observe (and even though it seems selfish for saying this) the other sister has put on weight, and I’m now the skinny one.

I look better in her clothes, and younger, and I feel like being skinny makes you look good in any outfit you choose to wear is universally true. The other day I went to a restaurant and only had coffee/tea. It seemed to be a good decision, because I came home, and had my healthy lunch and dinner as always without upsetting my routine.

And so about exercise. It works better apparently when one is watching one diet, Fitness is an 80/20 rule, with 80 pertaining to the diet part, and 20 pertaining to the workout part. Also since abs are made in the kitchen, your body also if you didn’t know, has less to carry if you lose weight which is one of the huge benefits of having a healthy diet.

Making an attempt to fill your plate with all kinds of vegetables, so you get a mix of nutrients and eating fruits daily, watching that you have as many unprocessed foods as possible, and trying to get a healthy level of protein are some of the things I have been doing of late,

And so I’m just being laid back, enjoying the morning air, the feeling of calm that emanates from a peaceful and calm morning. I did not sincerely think I would enjoy writing morning pages this much fun, but as you can see, I'm rather enjoying the ride.

With me continuing to describe the thoughts I have in my head regarding fitness, I feel like there’s room for improvement! I have been exercising regularly and watching what I eat. Entering restaurants, and just having tea.

You can truly be your fittest self if you ‘take the trouble to do so.’ The thing about consistent habits is that you have to undertake the journey to do them, getting up in the morning and sticking to the healthy eating-related aspects of your daily routine, is a commitment. People often frown on it, but better believe it, it has its benefits.

And so, there was a thought I had planned on writing, but it evades me. Drinking 12 glasses of water is something I have been doing with much devotion ever since the last 2 years. Let’s face it, sometimes drinking a plain ol glass o water doesn’t seem all that fashionable, but the seemingly tastiest energy drink has healing and toxin-removing properties for those who very fervently adhere to the practice of avoiding every liquid to drink except water.

It’s a commitment to sticking to the decision, but worth sticking to. Another thing I have noticed is that fruit and home-cooked meals suddenly attain a new glamour when you have been making healthy food choices consistently, drinking enough water, and getting enough exercise.

photo credit: weight loss images google

This kinda reminds me of the Christian Ideal, that eventually after a long time of being hardworking, just, pure, and intentional about things you speak, and the impressions you give off, suddenly you realize that God has carried you, and you are still in a good place because you stuck to the fight, and you get the reward for your responsibility later.

After the topic of fitness, what can I write about? Possibly about the new job prospects that are just around the corner. There is a choice between a work-from-home and a work on-site that pays enough for me to get my hostel rent.

And while the benefits of doing work from home, are far too much to outnumber, the flak I’ve been getting for being the one who is earning less is sick. I just love the fact that I’ve been able to stick to my healthy eating journey because I have been doing work from home.

Also, remember that you can be completely stressed free, and stick to your daily routine as well. And even grow as a writer, letting your writing skills improve manifold. When you are calm and relaxed it’s always about the writing and the joy of doing it, and the compliments and the feedback, and the growth that happens as a result.

photo credit: glow up queen

And so I’ve been doing all kinds of things in my own little world. I have not only been improving as a person, but I have also beentrying to follow a higher calling. A man Is born with only very basics, and in the end, it’s the same.

So why not be you know different and be spiritual and wing it! Because in the end, we are going to return to being what we were at birth, so why not take the trouble to be spiritual. But hey, when it gets down to the nitty-gritty its not all that easy! Life throws you challenges in the form of new opportunities for promising growth and sometimes setbacks, and the somewhat disruptive balance, makes you want to choose less healthier more often than not.

Healthy in every sense of the Word. ‘Feed the mind good wisdom, the body good nutrition, the soul good vibes and the heart good love’ is timeless and I feel like if only it seemed fashionable to do so, it would have been an easier choice to make.

It’s kinda important to ‘feel the love’ at every step. Whenever you try to do something, you would only do more and more of it, if you felt encouraged to do so. So if you feel optimism about something you are doing, it’s probably coz you still feel the love, and that energy helps you even take on long-term goals and routines.

So here I am still having a go at the morning pages. It seems to be an easier choice when one has a calmer frame of mind. Im really now considering the WFH if it’s better to do that, rather than the content writing job that I seem to be in the rounds for getting!

Right now Aviva is in my thoughts. Yesterday as I was talking to brother John, he seemed o be settled on getting distant from her. But there was something in my heart and mind, possibly even the Holy Spirit, who was directing me to get John to forgive her and be more avid about helping her to re-orient herself with Goa and its weird ways,

A person who has stayed in Dubai all their life, and now they are very keen on getting used to Goa after just 6 months of being here will obviously have lots of difficulties adjusting to the place.

I think we can try and impress on her that her learning in this dank, mellow world where life is very slow-moving, will help her wherever she decides to go in the future. As for following a routine, it seems to be easier to follow when you are calm as mentioned previously.

Some of the aspects of my routine, include ‘fixing breakfast, speaking to my prayer partner, getting a decent amount of exercise daily, after shower grooming activity, eating healthy, staying stress-free, and drinking lots of water.

I feel like sticking to the routine, builds a system in which your comfort is not disrupted when challenges arise. I think a WFH is best for this. You can do things stress-free, and you really garner the habit of making better choices!

________________________________________________________________

Did you like this story by me? You might enjoy this one too! Its only recently that I took an interest in writing short stories. Any way here is the link to an older story by me

You might like this one too!

Please comment saying what you like about my stories!

--

--

~ Sarah D ~

| Read my Short Fiction Stories | I'm a published Author|