Final Project Ideas

Sarah Cohen
5 min readMar 3, 2019

--

In my last critical making post, I did an overview of UX and technology as it manifests in the fashion and beauty industries. After my exploration, I narrowed it down to these possible projects ideas.

Below, you will find brief project descriptions, preliminary research and anticipated challenges for each project.

Smart Fitting Room

Amazon Echo Look

Last semester, I developed a prototype for a conversational interface in a dressing room using the Amazon Echo Look, an Alexa powdered camera specifically designed for fashion. The idea is that a customer could say. “These pants are a little tight, can I try another size?” and an alert would be sent to a sales associate to bring products to the customer.

Tech Used: RFID, Conversational Interfaces, Smart Mirror, Electronics, 3-D Modeling

How would a project work?: We have a smart mirror at the studio to play with, so I could probably set up a working demo at the studio. I think I could buy an Amazon Echo look, although they are expensive. I could also have a VR version of the model available on my portfolio.

Challenges: Some companies have already dove into this idea, which could be considered both a pro and a con. None of them were conversational, which would be my differentiator. I struggled with prototyping the skill last semester because it was so complex. I used Google Dialog as well as Bot Society, but neither of them allowed me to easily do what I wanted. I am also not sure how much customization I could do on the Amazon Echo Look as far as programming the skills.

Robotic Blow Drying Arm

Out of sheer laziness, I hate to blow dry my hair. I would love to have a robot arm that did it for me. This robot could function in one of two ways. The first idea is that it is just a blowdryer holder that moves around the head. The user would need to use a brush with his or her hands to achieve a blowout. The other idea would be a second robotic arm that brushes the hair at the same time for an entirely hands-free blowout. This would be useful for those who are lazy like me, but also for those with mobility issues. For me, accessible tech gets bonus points.

Tech Used: Electronics, Robotics, Programming, 3-D Modeling, 3-D Printing

How would a project work? I would most likely use a combination of a robotic arm kit, 3-D printing, and an Arduino or raspberry pi to accomplish this project. I would need to do some industrial design as well as UX work to determine the best way for it to work.

Challenges: There are two things holding me back from this project idea. The first is cost. From my initial research, a robotic arm kit that could accommodate the weight of a blow dryer could be anywhere from $200–$300. The second is a skill. I am horrible at electronic work as well as coding. It would be a huge technical challenge for me. Plus, I am not sure it would end up working.

Face Mapping + “Printing Makeup”

This is actually inspired by a project that ended up being a satirical piece, the Contour 8000. The idea was that a camera would take a 3-D scan of the user's face, and then airbrush makeup onto the user. I know it was a joke, but I think it is a cool idea. What if we could print make-up onto our faces?

Tech Used: 3D Modeling, Facial Scanning, and Mapping, Electronics

How might look: I would probably use an airbrushing makeup machine, some small robotic arms, and 3-D scanners.

Challenges: A huge challenge of this project would be making it work- period. This doesn't exist yet, it would be a mash-up of several other technologies and there is a big risk of failure. Beyond this, the cost would be high. An airbrush makeup system typically costs upwards of $200 dollars.s

AR/ VR Brand Pop-Up

I have a huge passion for blending physical and digital touchpoints. I am also interested in making AR and VR multisensory. Pop up experiences are becoming a widely used branding tactic in the industry. For example, Sephora Playhouse is an interactive experience that has life-sized exhibits such as a lipstick slide and palette trampoline.

Tech Used: AR/ VR, 3-D Modeling

How might look: I have always thought that perfume commercials were weird and wonderful, I could explore doing a VR version of a cool perfume commercial. It would be especially cool if this was done at perfume counters where you also could smell different scents from a brand. This Guerlain video is one example that would work nicely with VR.

Alternatively, it might be a cool way for people across the globe to explore brand pop-ups. For example, Benefit Cosmetics recently had a 50’s Themed Pink Diner pop up. It is an awesome branding opportunity. This could either be a VR experience about immersive visuals or it could be an AR experience that make use of existing spaces and brands them.

Challenges:

I don’t see any huge challenges here, except for choosing a topic. The other aspects that might become challenging are making it multisensory. I am not sure how that might work.

Other Tabled Ideas

These ideas are not rejected but have been tabled for now. I might explore them at a later date.

  1. AR Makeup Swatches
  2. Hygienic Sampling Methods
  3. Lipstick Packaging Customization from last semester
  4. Interactive Window Display
  5. VR Fashion Show

For now, I plan on exploring the Smart Fitting Room and Brand AR/VR pop-up. My next post will be a dive into AR and VR and playing around with how it works. Wish me luck!

--

--

Sarah Cohen

Experience Design Student | CMCI Studio, CU Boulder | Inspired by good coffee, sunny weather and passionate people.