How to Manage Information in Cybersecurity

Sara Sheon
4 min readMay 24, 2023
Photo by Brands&People on Unsplash

According to IBM, Knowledge management is the process of identifying, organizing, storing and disseminating information within an organization. In this case, the organization is ourselves. If you hear the term ‘knowledge management,’ you’ll usually hear ‘personal knowledge management’ or how we manage the information we learn.

As you know cybersecurity has a plethora of information. There’s so many resources and areas we need to be knowledgable in that we can’t keep track of it all! We need our own system to focus on our developing skills and focus on our retention method.

This is a continuation of:

My Knowledge Management

While I follow a very similar approach with other topics I’m interested in, we’ll focus on information security knowledge management. If you read Note Taking In Cybersecurity, you’ll see I created my parameters: Sync across multiple devices, option to export as Markdown file, code blocks, doesn’t require tons of folders, offline access, customization without going overboard.

--

--

Sara Sheon

Hi, I'm Sara! I aim to help cybersecurity students get into the field using skills and techniques I've learned! https://x.com/sara_sheon