6 lessons I learned reading more than 50 self-help books

Saurav Adh
6 min readSep 11, 2022

Whether you are familiar with reading or not I bet you have heard that one good book can change your life. Keep in mind there is no one good book. A book that changes your life may not be capable of changing mine, everybody has a different good book.

Well, technically the first book I ever read actually changed my life because it got me familiarized with reading and what reading can do. Since then I have been consistently reading and consuming knowledge side by side implementing and sharing them and truly my life has changed for good.

Every book I read teaches me something and every lesson I learn and implement takes me one step closer to something greater.

Self-help books have great power, the power itself does not lie in them but in the implementation we make after reading them.

First, let me share with you how reading has changed me, and then I will share some of the important lessons I learned after reading numerous self-help books.

  1. Reading helped me broaden my mindset and look at things from a wider perspective.
  2. Reading gave me a boost in confidence and a purpose to make and share videos and content that would be of help to people.
  3. The article you’re reading right now also came to life because I started reading, I never would have started writing if I had never read a book.
  4. Every positive change I have made in my life is the implementation of what I read. My gratefulness can’t even be explained in words.

All summed up nothing in life has benefitted me more than the reading habit.

Reading books after books I have learned a lot but right now I am going to share with you 6 important lessons from all the self-help books combined that I believe are the most impacting ones.

These are what I learned from reading numerous self-help books:

You are the sum of contents you consume

Fundamentally we are neither our thoughts, body nor the mind we are the awareness behind them but when it comes to what we grow into it is directly proportional to the contents we consume.

You are the sum of what you have consumed throughout your life. The books you read, the movies you watch, the people you hang out with, the music you listen to, basically everything you consume through your senses is what you ultimately become.

You consume flower, you produce honey. You consume shit, you produce shit.

What you feed in your mind is equally important to what you feed in your body.

Remember you become what you consume, so start consuming things that really matter to you, consume positivity, consume growth, betterment, and personal development.

Improving mental health improves every aspect of our lives

People rarely focus on improving their mental health on top of that with the advancement in technologies such as social media mental health conditions have further deteriorated.

Kids these days already show the symptoms of anxiety and depression, many people are mentally disturbed, a lot of people carry stress heavier than their weight and all this is directly causing deterioration in the quality of life.

One thing I have learned is if we just focus on improving this one aspect of life we will be able to handle all other aspects of life in a very peaceful way.

You need nothing more than an improved mental health, because everything comes after that.

Once you become mentally healthy, you will have less stress, you start enjoying the moment you live in, you become grateful for life, and you start to work on improving other aspects such as your financial conditions, relationships, health, and many more. Your life from every aspect starts to improve when you start improving your mental health.

Perfection doesn’t exist

Yes, that’s right perfection does not exist, nobody is perfect. Not even the most successful people on this planet are perfect, Cristiano Ronaldo, Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, Opera Winey, and Arnold Schwarzenegger, to name any are not perfect.

Everybody lacks something in certain aspects, everybody has something to improve, and everybody has something to work on.

Consistency is what builds up mastery.

Get rid of the word perfect from your dictionary and add consistency instead.

If you aim to be perfect you will never achieve it but if you aim to put in consistent actions then that is when you master something. Mastery does not mean there is nothing to improve there will always be something to improve and consistent action will keep on improving you.

Every master begins from a single step, there will be no perfect time, perfect moment, perfect skill, the secret is consistent action starting from this very moment.

Everything we do should align with value provision

Lord Krishna in the holy book Bhagavad Gita says “You are here to serve” and that’s entirely true. We have a very short time on this planet and the only thing we need to do is provide some value to make this a better place to live.

Provide value to people, loved ones, friends, customers, and audiences, and provide value all around.

When you start providing value that is when you become valuable.

No matter what you do, do it with the intent of providing value. If you build a business don’t go for money go for value provision, if you start a YouTube channel make valuable content, if you become a doctor provide value through your service. No matter what line of career you choose, what passion you build do it with the intent of providing some value.

Implementation beats everything

Everybody’s heard that “knowledge is power” but in reality, knowledge is just potential power. Until and unless you implement what you know nothing good actually comes out of it.

You know you should eat healthily, exercise regularly, meditate, read, and be productive but what’s the use when you don’t work on it? You might know a lot of things but you won’t actually progress if you don’t actually take action.

Learning is not knowing, learning is implementing.

The more you implement the more you will get to learn, the more you will improve, and the better you become.

Remember your knowledge is trash if you don’t implement it. So, forget knowing, just implement.

Perspective is everything

How you live your life, what kind of life you build, how you spend your time, how you feel, everything, literally everything is determined by your perspective.

If you perceive this life as a miracle, if you perceive gratefulness, if you perceive life as a beautiful journey then so it becomes. If you perceive life to be full of miseries and problems then so it becomes.

As you perceive, so as the life becomes.

Your perception of things depends upon your mentality and the wider your perspective more beneficial it becomes. Once you perceive this life as it is, not as you think it should be then automatically you begin to cultivate happiness without any effort.

Once you understand the true nature of yourself no voices and actions from the outside are going o change the way you feel about yourself. This is achievable when you look through the right perspective.

All the lessons I have learned cannot be compressed in this single article but these are some of the most impactful ones, hope this helps you too.

Here is one book I want you to read, and I promise this is really going to change your circumstance for good no matter where you are: ONE BOOK YOU MUST READ

Thanks for reading. If you like my work, please buy me a Ko-fi as I am currently unable to earn from the medium. Your appreciation means a lot.

Here is my e-book: Raising your Vibration, which is a beginner’s guide to improving vibrational energy.

--

--

Saurav Adh

I write to share a view through my experiences, knowledge, and observation helping you for personal growth. e-book: https://payhip.com/b/U