#100daysofpublishing Day 5

Sophie Blom
2 min readMay 19, 2015

--

It’s Ad Deadline Day! I had four to do, but thankfully I came prepared with a “master ad” so I really only had to fit the elements into the appropriate dimensions.

A little time-consuming to set up, and my mind’s been on design all day, so I thought I’d keep this short and show off the design changes of The New Quarterly since 1981. It started out in a chapbook format, and subsequently updated its design in 1985, 1991, and 2002. The current design was a significant overhaul that came about in 2007. The square format and dose of colour is a shocking change from previous issues, and as we’ve matured into this theme we’ve mellowed a bit too.

Our most recent issue is the 30th in this format!

I also wanted to mention, as I see them, some other examples of behind-the-scenes publishing, like this interview on live-streaming the Washington Post Sports Section. Not sure if I’ll be periscoping this stuff any time soon, though.

Day 4

Day 6

--

--

Sophie Blom

MPub student, collector of crafty hobbies, general enthusiast, managing editor at @thenewquarterly