From Investment Advisor to Trader

Singaporean Landlord
2 min readSep 1, 2023

--

Red and green candles are not for everyone

It has been about a year since I joined iFAST as an investment advisor. Over this one year, I learnt about where to put my money in long term investments. My focus was on low fees and better returns. So naturally, I put my (and my clients’) money into Dimensional Funds, and I did a lot of research into how I can invest passively and after that, everything was pretty smooth sailing.

As I shared my investment strategy, friends and family joined me in my investment journey. Soon after, people interested in my strategy joined me also and it has been a fun journey so far. In Mid July 2023, I was looking at the markets and thought that it is a bit too overbought, so I decided to liquidate my portfolio. After 6 weeks, markets have been moving sideways.

On another front, I have been exploring options trading strategy as an investment fund. I did some trading with a friend and he suggested that I should start a VCC (Variable Capital Company) fund. After a few months, I am ready to officially start trading the VCC fund as the principal trader. Initially, I was thinking that there would not be any conflict of interest as the VCC fund is only involved in options while my role in iFAST is only involved in unit trusts. However, I was informed that iFAST considers this as a conflict of interest so I have to resign.

Actually, I have once considered to join the trading industry. After I left my first job as a research scientist, I was thinking of joining Philips Securities as a remisier but decided to be an interior designer instead. So it is rather interesting that I am circling back to this trading industry. This month, September 2023, will involve me transiting from long term investments to short term trading. This will be what I will be working on the next 7 years from 2023 to 2030. I will be allocating 10% of my net worth into this VCC fund. For this VCC fund, I can only take in clients who have >300k salary or >2M net worth.

Relevant Links

Best Actively Passive Investment: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/best-actively-passive-investment-566e62d359be

Property Exit to Investment Advisor: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/property-exit-to-investment-advisor-ab5c05409e2e

If you enjoy my writing, do give me a “clap” and reach out to me if you have any questions. I can be easily contacted via Facebook, send me a DM.

--

--