Update on Fund Managers Q2 2022

Singaporean Landlord
2 min readJul 2, 2022

--

Markets have been going down recently

In this update, I will share the interactions with the 4 fund managers, their performances in the past 6 months and my investment plans in the next 6 months.

Fund Manager #1

FM1’s portfolio was invested in Global Tech, India and China. In the past 6 months, the portfolio dipped 20.6%, we met once and I was considering to invest a little more and FM1 suggested a new portfolio comprising of Energy and China when I asked for something more conservative.

Fund Manager #2

FM2’s portfolio was invested in Global Tech, Asian Growth, India and China. In the past 6 months, the portfolio dipped 21.9%, there were contact points in May and June and FM2 suggested I invest more to dollar cost average (DCA).

Fund Manager #3

FM3’s portfolio was invested in Money Markets and then switched to Global Tech on 30 June 2022. In the past 6 months, the portfolio dipped 2%, there were contact points in 5 out of the 6 months.

Fund Manager #4

FM4’s portfolio was invested in US Tech and Asian Growth. In the past 6 months, the portfolio dipped 25.1% and there was no contact.

Benchmarks

Benchmark 1 dipped 29.1% and Benchmark 2 dipped 70.6%.

Summary

In a correction market, all FMs outperformed the benchmarks. FM3 is the best performer due to defense play by parking in Money Markets

Conclusion

Based on Q2 2022 performances by the various Fund Managers as compared to the benchmarks, I have decided to continue monitoring performances. As I am expecting a substantial inflow of cash from my sale of investment property, I will need to be a bit more mindful about how I invest. I am currently looking at the various paths and considering what is the best way to do this. Exciting times ahead!

Relevant Links

Why I hired a Fund Manager: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/why-i-hired-a-fund-manager-a2624df88bae

Update on Fund Managers Q4 2021: https://medium.com/@singaporeanlandlord/update-on-fund-managers-q42021-48e548cf18d2

If you enjoy my writing, do give me a “clap” and reach out to me if you have any questions. I can be easily contacted via Facebook, send me a DM.

--

--