Daily UX Writing Challenge: Day 9

Siti Rahmadini Rasad
2 min readSep 23, 2020

--

The credit card has expired when the user want to rent a car

Scenario: The user is trying to rent a car using an application but the credit card on file has expired.

Challenge: Write them an error message so that they can correct the problem.

Headline: 30 characters
Body: 45 characters

I kinda struggled with this one. When I read the brief, I was taken aback because there’s no button required, again. But when I think about the scenario, it might be a good thing because it require the user to interact outside the app/another app. When I tried to add CTA buttons, it kinda worked with 1st ‘update card’ and then it will lead the user to the the user’s bank app (assuming the rental app worked with the banks). But for 2nd button, if they want to go back to choose another payment page, I still can’t find words short enough for the it; always seem too long to me.

So for now, I decided to write the CTA in body copy and if the user wants to go back to payment method page, they can use the build-in ‘back’ button. I know Android have this feature, and after some googling, newest version of iPhone already have it too, I think? Please let me know if I’m wrong.

#DailyUXWritingChallenge Day 9

Feedbacks from Daily UX Writing Facebook Group members (bulleted for convenience):

  1. “Uh oh” in a payment flow seems to be very alarming. And being told to contact the bank also feels like something must be very wrong.
  2. This is most likely not that big of a deal. How about ‘please update your credit card or choose another payment method’?

I tried to revise according to the feedbacks I got, and this was what I came up with.

Revision

I didn’t get more feedback after this, but if anyone have feedback, feel free to drop it in the comment section, I would highly appreciate it!

Thank you very much in advance!

--

--

Siti Rahmadini Rasad

A translator who’s passionate in writing things. She also loves reading and watching good stories unfold.