I Went From Zero to $1,000 on Upwork…here’s how

Social Media Butterfly
4 min readJul 2, 2024

--

First, let me start by saying that this WAS NOT an overnight success story. I spent months applying to jobs and… not a peep. Upwork can be brutal to newbies, but the good news is I finally cracked the code. And now, it’s your turn to break through that barrier. Here’s how I did it.

How I made $1000 on Upwork proof

The Three-Step Process I Used to Break Through on Upwork:

The Three-Step Process I Used to Break Through on Upwork. 1. Hook, line, proposal. 2.Killer portfolio. 3.Quick wins, big results
The Big 3

Hook, Line, Proposal

Proposals on Upwork are very different from the traditional cover letters you’re probably used to writing. Think of it more like a sales pitch — short, punchy, and straight to the point instead of super formal.

It’s all about two key goals:

  1. Grab the Client’s Eye: You’re facing fierce competition, so make a strong first impression that sets you apart

2. Show Your Worth & Solve Their Problem: Clearly communicate your value and how your skills can solve their specific need

Here’s the proposal that got me my last Upwork gig

how to write an upwork proposal example

Build a Killer Portfolio

When I first started applying to Upwork gigs, I didn’t even have a portfolio. Big mistake!

Big mistake, huge

I started including a portfolio link in my proposals, and replies started rolling in! It wasn’t long before I landed my first project.

Seriously, it felt like magic! I created my first portfolio on Behance, but now I love using Canva websites. It’s so versatile and most importantly FREE!

BONUS TIP: You can show off more of your work with Upwork’s new Profile Highlights feature. It lets you select different sections of your profile to showcase. I like to tailor highlights to each job.

Check out how I used it for a video editing gig! (p.s : I got the job)

how to use profile highlights upwork example

Make sure you follow my Instagram @socialmediabutterflyy for more content & social media tips!

Quick Wins, Big Results

Let's face it, the ‘Upwork pond’ is filled with bigger fish that have extensive work history, an SEO-optimized account, and the holy grail — a sparkling collection of 5-star ratings. This makes it hard to grab attention when you’re just starting out.

The secret weapon? Prioritize building a reputation over getting paid (even though that’s important too).

Target “quick win” jobs– projects you can confidently deliver exceptional work on within a short timeframe. It could be creating a graphic for $15 or writing captions for $50. Just remember, this is only a temporary strategy.

Your Upwork Journey Starts Now

Upwork can be an amazing platform to find freelance success. With dedication and these steps as your guide, you’ll be well on your way to your first $1,000 and beyond!

Have questions about Upwork? DM me, let's chat

--

--

Social Media Butterfly

I’m a Social Media Manager passionate about helping you grow your online community. I share social media & content creation tips!