SAOSIN | Revisiting a Gem of the Past| Translating the Name EP (2003)

Sophia Goth
2 min readSep 5, 2024

--

If you were introduced to Saosin’s self-titled album, aka the Beetle album, as I was in 2006, then lets take a stroll back a few years to the band’s debut EP, Translating the Name, featuring vocalist Anthony Green, Justin Shekoski on guitar and backing vocals, and Beau Burchell on guitar, back vocals, and programming. Pat Magrath and Alex Lawrence were hired on as session musicians at the time. The record is a passionate, emotional, and energetic post-hardcore gem, which you’re going to get something unique here. This EP contains all the bells and whistles you could want if you enjoy this genre of music. Beautiful instrumentals, furious drumbeats, and the emotive expression of Green’s vocals are one of the many highlights. You may also know Anthony from Circa Survive which he formed in 2004, and later down the road, he returned to Saosin in 2016 with the release of Along the Shadow.

Furthermore, it’s always a delight to settle down with any record Green is singing on, and today I’m revisiting an EP that made me adore Saosin even more as a whole. The self-titled album, and Cove Rebers’ vocals are another respected addition. Reber was able to maintain the essence and passion of Saosin with Reber’s effortless vocal style, he was a fan of Saosin before he joined the band so he understood the band, but also brought something different. Check out my review on the 2006 album. Overall, I think it was a successful shift in a new direction for the band coming into the 2006 record. I don’t mind vocal changes, I’m an adaptable listener, so I can always find something that I like and try to see the perspective for myself. Both Green and Reber gave Saosin fans something to hold onto.

photo curtesy | Saosin

Another major highlight of the EP, are the instrumentals and drumming. The drums really shine throughout, with crisp hi-hat madness, every song feels so sharp. The contrasts between the guitars, drumbeats, and vocals are well balanced; you can hear every element. The guitar work is fantastic. “Lost Symphonies” intro hits hard, intensity, quick drumbeats, and overall hardcore. I’ll forever return back to this EP from time to time.

I’ll leave you with a live performance of “Translating the Name” with Anthony Green’s return to the band back in 2016.

--

--