The Journey Begins…(The week that was :22 -28 October 2018)

Sreya Sarah
2 min readOct 28, 2018

--

This last week was no short of a thriller movie experience for me. It started off with my application to the WITx program at the last minute on 22nd October. I was not sure if my application was up to the mark for the program in which many other girls like me had applied and most of them were from the pioneer engineering institutions in the state. I was filled with anxiety and excitement so much that I was almost sure that there was a full on butterfly park in my stomach. This opportunity is one that I have been looking forward to for a really long time and attending the GHCI conference has been a dream ever since I first heard about it last year.The results were published within a few days and my dream came a step closer to achievement. The program began with a warmup session that was filled with the energies of the participants and our wonderful coaches.We were then given tasks and activities to be completed.

The first activity was to find opportunities for women in tech. I was amazed to discover so many opportunities for women interested to work and make a difference in the field of technology. We, the participants as a whole, were able to discover around 100 exciting opportunities for the women in tech.

This was followed by another task in which we had write a summary about an interview done by WIT cohort 1 participant with a GHCI scholar from the previous year. I watched the interview of Mehul Smriti Raje done by my batch mate Elsa Maria George and wrote a summary based on it. This was a great chance to connect to people who are out there making a niche for themselves.

After these tasks, I am now eagerly looking forward to my next task in this journey.

--

--