Quest for the Best GF Pizza in St. Louis, Missouri

Steph Kaefer
2 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Celiac disease is a new friend in my life, and I say friend because she is overall helping me to feel better. Since my diagnosis and subsequent diet change at the start of March this year, I have been feeling and sleeping better. Can’t complain about either one of those.

But there is the slight issue of foods I now need to skip. Celiac disease occurs when a person reacts to eating gluten, which is found in foods that have wheat, rye, or barley…AKA a lot of delicious foods (Celiac). The cause of the disease is unknown at this point. It must have developed somewhat recently for me, because I previously enjoyed healthy (and at times unhealthy) quantities of bread, pasta, graham crackers, and additional glutenous foods.¹

A few weeks ago my quest formed, following an idea, following the question- What Gluten Free Pizza Options Exist Here? If there are others out there who have undertaken a similar journey, I say “What’s up!” and “Let me know your thoughts and suggestions!” Likewise, if you would like to join me, welcome and please come along!

I believe it was the evening that my bestie and her son were coming over. We often order pizza together, typically Domino’s (they do have GF! Read on for my review!) but I wanted to be fancy and/or “St. Louis,” so I logged on to www.imospizza.com. And that is where the adventure begins…

Stories from the Quest

  1. Imo’s
  2. Domino’s- Coming Soon!
  3. Dewey’s- TBT
  4. Pi- TBT
  5. Felix’s- TBT
  6. Pizzahead- TBT
  7. The Place a Friend Recommended- TBT (+ need to follow up with him)

Bonus: Trader Joe’s crust

No GF pizza at this time: Pointer’s Pizza

Unknown/To Explore: Vito’s, Fortel’s, Pizzeria da Gloria

[1]: I am just now realizing that I will not enjoy a traditional s’more experience this summer, which makes me briefly sad. GF graham crackers do exist; I have yet to sample them. Here I would like to offer an enthusiastic shout-out to all the snack food companies creating delicious GF snacks. I sampled some chips from The Good Crisp Company earlier today and wow! Y’all nailed that.

Sources/Further Reading:

“Celiac Disease” The Mayo Clinic https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/celiac-disease/symptoms-causes/syc-20352220

“Imo’s Introduces Cauliflower Crust” https://www.imospizza.com/blog/imos-introduces-cauliflower-crust/

Gluten Free Pizza from Imo’s. St. Louis, MO.

--

--