Flutter Widgets (Stack & Positioned) The Whole Picture.

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community
6 min readSep 26, 2020

--

This is my 5th article on Medium and 5 is a recurring number, every time you multiple 5 by 5 and then again with 5, the number 5 always stays, endlessly. It is consistent so would I like to be and I am trying to do so. I just need a little help from you readers to read what I write and tell me how I am doing by leaving a few comments and suggestions.

So what are we going to talk about today? We will be discussing the Stack widget, along with the Positioned widget because Stack needs Positioned widget to position its children on its vertical and horizontal axis. With the Positioned widget, it becomes really easy to arrange children inside the Stack. Which in return creates beautiful UI.

Introduction

Stack widget stacks its children on top of each other like a stack of books, now you can re-arrange that stack however you want. You can add colour and shape using the Container widget and give a background to your UI and have a Card widget on top of it, there are so many possibilities as per your imagination.

left: normal Stack right: Stack + Positioned

These are the parameters of a Stack widget.

Stack(
alignment…

--

--

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community

By profession, I am a school professor and I also develop Android applications and also Flutter applications.