Why People Are Overly Critical and How To Deal With Them

They’re never impressed, constantly disappointed in others and sets unattainable expectations.⁣

Katharine Chan
Change Becomes You

--

Photo by Les Anderson on Unsplash

Nothing is good enough

I am guilty of being overly critical. It’s an unfortunate behaviour of recovering perfectionists.

I’ve been that toxic asshole who was constantly ragging on others, pointing out their weaknesses and offering “solutions” to non-existent problems.

I was always comparing…apples to oranges to bananas to kiwis.

I looked for flaws before beauty.⁣ I looked for what went wrong before what went right.⁣ I’d complain and complain and complain about how horrible people were. There wasn’t any good left in the world and there was never enough for everyone. Scarcity dominated my paradigm. I believed good things only happened to people who paid a price.

When someone was successful, I’d assume they worked too hard and criticized them for having no life.

When someone was beautiful, I’d assume they were vacant and criticized them for being vain.

When someone was well off, I’d assume it was handed to them and criticized them for being entitled.

--

--

Katharine Chan
Change Becomes You

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books