Bangalore Goa Bangalore 1200KM Randonneuring

Suresh Subbaiah
36 min readFeb 24, 2023

--

How I overcome the Bangalore Goa Bangalore(BGB) ride fear, despite having no confidence in finishing..

BGB the name remembers me of Sagar Bhardawaj’s ride of doing solo with no support🫡.. the story to be told.

Preparation

To begin the journey of Bangalore-Goa-Bangalore(BGB), the day started off from Jan 2023 with 6 weeks left for the ride day, which starts on 17th Feb 2023. 🤔 and road to Paris-Brest-Paris(PBP) is 7.5months far. With the personal and professional commitments, add to it my lazy bum attitude the amount of practice in 2022 was very minimal, post my Jog 1000 ride. Doing BGB was near impossible with the state of fitness I am. Plan is to get maximum mileage before the registration of event opens and gain confidence.

Week 1:

Jan 7th 2023 Bangalore Randonneurs Nandi 200km BRM opens, came to know my RIDE PARTNER Sagar Bharadwaj won’t be doing PBP, that means I have to prepare to be solo and the state of confidence further goes down. Having said that, I have to start from ground zero again. Being on MTB setup, it is hard to match other ride partners with same frequency of mindset for the 4 night rides, well A BIG challenge up there. I struggled to climb Nandi Hills, at one point the legs started freezing up and thoughts of quitting ride popped up with a feeling of I am done, somehow managed to finish.

The climb which I was doing it around 45mins any day took me 70mins with full exhaustion.

Nandi BRM Timings
Ride profile

I have DECIDED to BREAK IT or PERISH. Completed ride in 11:35hrs.
https://www.strava.com/activities/8352831669

Week 2:

Aarohan Kodagu 650 Event, a racing format organised by team of cycling Enthusiasts.

I had the privilege to be volunteer for the event, that means I will be loosing one weekend of training, also a crucial week before the next BRM 300 Melkote. The ride starts from Chikamagalur and ends in Madikeri, was part of media crew, had the responsibilities to cover the riders on road for the next 45hrs, plus the preparation the crew has to do before the ride starts. Took this as an opportunity, to train my sleep pattern for the long rides from this week.

I had the problem of not getting sleep in noisy places and also for shorter duration sleeps my mind won’t be fresh. Now, I have to overcome my problems or train my mind to adapt to situations.

Step 1: Started taking smaller sleep breaks during the day and see if I can control to get sleep.
Step 2: Stay awake for 2 nights.

I fairly managed, not the desired result I wanted to see. But was happy with the progress of the plan made to utilise a week. The fear of BGB doing solo is kicking my mind and stress is increasing.

Aarohan Kodagu 650

Week 3:

To understand my level and decide to take a call on either quitting or doing BGB. I have to do at-least a single big ride of 600km comprising of 2 sleepless nights. Day in day out, each passing day I was feeling jitters knowing about the ride. I want to be realistic if not prepared well never attempt it, since I won’t be justifying it.

Melkote 300 BRM started off, till Maddur 90km went in my best Avg speed. To note, without breakfast I reached manned control point, which was ~130km away. Realised I should not do these stupid mistakes and deplete the energy reserves which is a lifeline to get going. After the food cp, the asli show started, Sun on top with its peak heat, winds blowing into you and the rolling terrain making the bike moving forward much difficult.

All those road bike riders where easily passing me, I started feeling insecure and getting thoughts this is not working out as I have to spend at least 30% time more in peddling and also my saddle time increases. That means, I have to compromise on my rest time. If I need more rest time, have to work on speed and maintain sustainability. To get that 30% extra buffer time I can get road bike or else suffer and train for the result and prepare for more saddle time, which does not come with luxury.

Finished ride in 16h 24m.
https://www.strava.com/activities/8429352593

Melkote Ride Profile

Week 4:

Started planning for a big ride of 600km. Had a chat with Sagar Bhardawaj, we thought of Coorg 600 and then Kolli, Yercaud hill ride. Finally thought of 6 hills ride covering a distance of 600km. Route was set, but due to our family commitments had to cut short and settle for 200km+ ride.

Me and Sagar riding together for a long ride after a long long time. For me if he is in front just see him and ride (I had this comfort of riding with him and forget about rest of the things which matters, as he used to take care of those. The biggest advantage is, we compliment each other, and discuss on the go what went wrong and good. And try to correct those in next session with a funny conversations.)

Note: I don’t hear music while riding, instead try to be focused and see around whenever bored. It’s opposite with my ride partner.

Sagar is riding after a big break this will be his first 200km ride, and I had a decent mileage behind. I thought it will be easy run for me, no surprise he is still my Boss and teaches how to improve. We managed to cut short ride and replace Avalabetta to Nandi Hills to finish ride soon and come back home before the sunset. Both were exhausted and understood our levels.

The BIGGEST problem for me is I am unable to bear the saddle soreness pain, after crossing 150km. The soreness eats my mind making to stop doing rides and find a way to go home.

3Hills Rid Profile

Ride stat:
Distance: 201km
Elapsed Time: 13h:51m
Moving Time: 10h:58m
Elevation: 2214m

https://www.strava.com/activities/8465165459

Week 4:

The last week left for the preparation, till now I was not able to get one long ride. I was still thinking on the idea of doing solo 600km. My initial days of long rides planning started off with the preparation of doing solo rides. I have to restart the journey and adapt it.

The ride started towards Hogenakkal 400km with a elevation of around 3500mt. To my surprise ride till 100km was smooth, in terms of riding performance I hit my best timing with minimum efforts, the overall time it took to reach Hogenakkal was 9hrs. Opposite to me saw few riders coming in Bangalore Randonneurs jersey and I see Vaseem doing Elevation practice in reverse, starting from Hosur. Vaseem informed there are 2 riders Vikram and Shubham doing the same Hogenakkal route and having lunch at junction. Vaseem called Vikram and informed them I am coming.

From here on, the strategy for me changed. I planned to see how well I will adapt with new riders in night, if there is a situation that arises. I sticked to their plan of doing Hogenakkal 300km which cut shorts 100km but Elevation remains little less, but not a problem.

It seemed very tough to gel with new riders aligning to their pace and plan. Since these guys were riding after long time, they were taking lot of breaks in between. I am not used to this type of ride pattern, I stick to do long intervals and take break very minimal, the lessons I learnt from my Master Mohan Subramanyam all the time. To move in MTB there is nothing short cut but have to strictly follow this basics. Ride ended at 4am.

Lessons learnt, can we adjust to new riders on the go for long time? if yes how long and I will be able to catch up road bikers? Testing Week 3 preparations(sleep)? Saddle soreness settling? All questions pointing a BIG NO. Stayed glued!!!

The road to LRM Bangalore Goa Bangalore is going to get tougher and gives jitters!

Ride Stat:
Distance: 330 Km
Elapsed Time: 22h:24m
Moving Time: 17h:10m
Elevation: 3152mt

https://www.strava.com/activities/8506235172

Hogenekkal Ride Profile

Week 5:

Flèche, a group ride to Hampi. This being a min 360km ride, the Idea behind this format is to build bonding between the riders and we have to together complete the ride covering a distance of 360km in 24hrs timeline. The group being of Natesh(Captain), Sagar Bhardawaj, Manikantan, Dr. Manjunath.

The expectation is to ride without saddle soreness and reach easily, the actual outcome is, it became my hardest ride ever. When getting closer to Chitradurga the heat was too much to handle along with head winds. All riders were in their own mindset and wanted to take a sleep break during noon. As I didn’t want to repeat Week 4 mistakes, I want to ride a good stretch with less stops. Team decided to stop over for sometime which I have to finally give up to there Idea.

I decided to utilise the break time to take a quick Power Nap, that I have been practising from Week 2. Actually the rest worked, I felt very fresh and able to perform well. The night ride to Hampi was bliss, we maintained good pace and covered the lost time which we were running behind for the many stop overs we gave.

The D day is arriving in 5days….

Ride Stat:
Distance: 372km
Elapsed Time: 24h:25m
Moving Time: 16h:56m
Elevation: 1655mt

https://www.strava.com/activities/8545562668

Hampi Ride Profile

Week 6:

Loading….!!!

The final week, the state of mind and thoughts are still same and my percentage of quitting increased to 99% due to all sort of issues I have been experiencing through these 5 weeks. 1% somewhere I wanted to ride it to a point where I will give up. All through the week whoever I have been talking through was telling them I am won’t be riding BGB, will give a miss and plan something else.

As the day neared in and talking to my friends I was little sure of starting ride on Friday 17th Feb 2023. But the twist came up, the scheduled office work which was supposed to be closed by Thursday 16th 2023 moved a day after, that is on the day before BGB ride starts and exactly by the time when ride starts! That’s it, I got a feeler something is stopping I should convey my message of quitting.

Dropped a note to my friends as I got 2 critical meetings at 4pm and 8pm on Friday 17th 2023 and I will be quitting the ride. Spoke with Sagar, he convinced me I can manage but I didn’t want to take risk of getting in spot. Natesh Muthanna came in to picture he gave all the support and offered me to lend his hotspot device so that I can take calls during the ride. My friends didn’t want me to quit, they were damn sure of me finishing and boosting my confidence.

Vidya Hari akka, sent a message “Entire universe is trying for you do this ride just go and finish it and inform office how important both are for you and ask them block space for wall of fame in next quarter”.

The message struck me deep, called up Mohan Subramanya(Organiser) shared my situation, he was ready to help and do me the favour of bringing in Laptop at CP2 Pakashala. That was huge support for me and made my belief stronger to reach Goa within time.

Drop Bags and Bib card Collection @FKCCI

That’s it on Friday 17th Feb 2023 morning, handed over the Drop bag at FKCCI. Came back home finished the work, I was ready to leave to start point by 2:30pm to take the meeting call, which is going to happen at 3:30 to 4:30pm. The final hours start’d to begun!

While all the riders were greeting and having conversation, I was working and finishing work. The ride got announced to start at 3:50pm which is a 10mins head start against the 4pm start, due to traffic at the venue. So I will be loosing 40mins of time. With a positive attitude, I thought to myself I am going to finish this ride for a reason be it Late Finish. The call went past 4:10pm, finished up the work and handed over the bag to Sagar Bhardawaj. Quickly took the cycle and was ready to roll in. TIME check, started ride around 4:15pm that’s a 25mins loss of time.

Volunteers Mariya Reddy, Sagar Jadhav, Sagar Bharadwaj and Mohan Subramanyam greeted and wished me good luck!

Bangalore Goa Bangalore 1208km Journey Starts..

Brace up from the level of MTB rider, how I overcome my negatives!

An introduction to the route, Bangalore Goa Bangalore is a Les Randonneurs Mondiaux(LRM) event Organised by Bangalore Randonneurs club as a signature event covering 1200kms in 90hrs time to get the Homologation from Audax Club Parisien. The route is scenic and is very challenging, the ride goes through 4Nights, riders have to be ready to be sleepless. As the name goes the route is a loop starting from,

Bangalore-Nelamangala-Yediyur-Tiptur-Arsikere-Bhadravathy-Shimoga-Sagara-Jog-Honnavara-Ankola-Goa-MadGoa — Molem-Anmod-CastellRock-Jagalabeta-SopaDam-GaneshGudi-DandeliRoad-Haliyal-Davanagere-Hubli-Bankapura-Haveri-Rannebennur-Harihara-Davanagere-Chitradurga-Hiriyur-Sira-Tumkur-Nelamangala-Bangalore

Flashback of 2020 BGB Event.

Pic: Credits Bangalore Randonneurs/Mohan Subramanyam. 2020 BGB Poster
Pic: Credits Bangalore Randonneurs/Mohan Subramanyam. 2020 BGB medal
Pic: Credits Bangalore Randonneurs/Mohan Subramanyam. 2020 BGB Finishers

2023 Start line riders waiting for the start..

Pic: Credits Bangalore Randonneurs/Mohan Subramanyam. BGB 2023 Start line

This is the second edition of BGB, the first one started on 21–02–2020. This time the route is bit changed due to bad roads, as said this edition is less tougher than last edition. I have no insights about who all doing BGB, except my closed ones.

In the event WhatsApp group, all where having there timesheets with there planning timelines. I did not plan any timings, just followed the mantra of just peddle peddle(Muchkondu peddle maadu(Kannada Slang)). I am not the person who plan much, will try to be simple to take it as a tourer mindset. As I believe keeping basics rights will take me forward. Also I have to finish first 600km in 38hrs to get 2hrs sleep time.

I took this ride as Test Cricket Match pattern, breaking into sessions and 2 Innings. I have to win maximum sessions and getting first innings finished in expected time, will set the ride course to finish. Loosing some session is still fine.

With no plan in mind, started off in a snail pace dodging the Bangalore traffic. Took 35mins to reach Gorguntepalya, the last major traffic choking point in the route. Time check: 4:50pm, took the elevated highway and reached Nelamangala, saw few riders towards Hassan route stopped for hydration(coconut water), that’s the point I was happy to see I won’t be last person. Building on it, I gained momentum at the same time I didn’t want to push myself and get choked. As I passed through each point, started crossing riders all the way, saw riders Vaseem peddling in front of me, caught up with Prasad, Swamy. Had a pep talk with Swamy while riding, the talk boosted my confidence.

Since I was running low on water, I had to stop at a shop around 6:30pm, covering a distance of 65km in 2h:15m. As the shop didn’t had normal water, I had no option but to buy packed water bottle and not wasting much time I took Honey Cake and finished it. Then saw Sai Srinivas stopping for quick bite and water, we greeted each other and left from there. The distance to CP2 from the shop was 23km, started around 6:40pm and reached Pakashala hotel by 7:30pm. Got time stamped by Mariya Reddy(Volunteer), as I didn’t want to waste much time for dinner, but the place was fully filled and had no place to sit at all.

Hassan Road

Ran around the hotel to check with each waiter, no body was responding to me. Thought I had to leave this place and look for good place en-route, searched in Google for any hotels around. There were no hotels for at least 20–30km and the distance seems to be far, with no choice went back and found a place to sit. Enquired for the quickest food option, irony is each order will take 20mins to serve. Only Idly was the quickest food available, ordered 2 Idlis, 2 lemon Juice with salt to stock my lost salts and Dal kichidi for parcel for the night. The waiter came back saying only 1 Idly left, asked him to get what ever is left. By the time I finished Idly, the parcel will be ready and I will be sorted for the night if I feel hungry. Every order was taking minimum 10–15mins of time, lessons learnt plan ahead and don’t get into crowded place.

Took the parcel, time spent 60mins, with sad face and cursing Pakashala Hotel I had to start by 8:30pm. As I said, I didn’t had any insights about how the route is going to be, was relying heavily on bike gpx and Garmin Navigation. The route from Yediyur towards Turvekere and Tiptur is country side roads I was riding all alone, at some point riders Sahil and Arun joined me. While riding a funny conversation with Sahil helped to keep my mind fresh, we started making fun of the noises relating to some wild animals that was coming in those darkest section.

As we neared Turvekere road, saw a bike accident and crowd started gathering in. We didn’t pay much attention to the accident as we didn’t want to get scared and get disturbed. After few kms saw Sahil and Arun and few other riders stopping at Turvekere for a break, I didn’t stop but continued to go towards next place Tiptur. The route was dark and less traffic was passing by, and at some places the road was fully gone and scrapped.

I enjoyed the bad sections as I had the comfort bike from everyone else on the route. While riding at this bad section I was getting called by Bikers asking me about my whereabouts about the ride, I was chatting with the locals and letting them know we are going to Jog. Closing in to Tiptur town got a call from Natesh, that he has stopped over at a Shop, which was 4km away.

Road towards Tiptur

Went in full swing and caught him up, I started feeling hungry and Natesh and Uday who were riding together were filled up and ready to roll to Mathighatta Farm House CP3. With the current state, if I continue without eating I sensed I will get bonked, I conveyed to Uday I need to take break and told them to carry on. But Natesh stayed back with me.

We stopped at a place which had bench like structure, picked the parcelled Dal Kichidi which I got from Pakashala Hotel, started gulping it fast. In mean time we saw a Drunkard in Bike approaching towards us he was saying something as he was very close to us we could hear him asking what are you doing at District Court? Till then we didn’t realise we were in front of Court. Ignored him, we quickly finished our food before the drunkard troubles us, we were ready to move towards CP3 which was 50km away.

The road from here on, was getting expanded to 4lane highway. Before entering Arsikere town, we followed the bypass road to realise later we were off course and were 4km far from the route. We took a detour and reached the correct course, lost some time in navigation. After this point I reduced my speed, I know pushing fast will tire me, and road being in under construction we have to be careful at those points where there is diversion and oncoming traffic.

We neared the Mathighatta Farm House CP3, saw some fast riders resting and having food. Greeted Volunteers and handover BIB card for timestamp. Took the food and finished it quickly, enquired Natesh does he need a long break, he told 15mins and we can start. I wanted to utilise the time to rest my body, went inside the room and laid down. I started feeling my muscles pain and feeling crampy while lying down. Realised my salts are lost, I need to do something before things get worst.

The rest was good, though I didn’t sleep felt the body got relaxed after lying down. Natesh waked me up for the start, I quickly checked with him I need another 5mins to take care of my saddle Soreness issue to apply chamois cream.

Checked In: 1:30am
Check Out: 2:15am
Total km: 207km
Time: 10h:15m
Next Place: Bhadravathy

As we started leaving CP3, I was feeling very cold and shivering. I told Natesh do you have an extra Jacket, and also checked with Binod Volunteer for a jacket. Luckily Natesh was carrying his DHB jacket that eased my shivering and cold. We headed towards Kadur, it was too cold and foggy, the road was patchy and bumpy all the way till we took a left towards Bhadrawathy. After taking a left, the road is good and its a rolling terrain.

Me and Natesh having a conversation about the route. We could hear the water flowing sounds through the canal and visualising how beautiful this place would be in the day time. I told him, this is the same route we came for Aarohan Kodagu 650km and it is very scenic. The road from Bhadravathy town to Shimoga had a slight rolling terrain and long descents. We started to see Sunrise while reaching Shimoga town, the road was good but we were sleep deprived and riding in below Avg pace.

While we were reaching Shimoga town, started to look for good hotel which has a restroom as well finish BreakFast. We didn’t find any good place till we reached Shimoga Bustand, stopped at a place called Sharavathy, Ordered ChowChow Bath(Karnataka Special) and Set Dosa. We heard a news that Jayaprakash our friend had to quit due to his medical condition and Anand is alone and continuing.

Credits: Natesh near Shimoga

Checked In: 7:00am
Check Out: 8:15am
Total Km: 291km
Time: 16h:15m

Once we started from the hotel, the route from Shimoga to Sagara has high rolling climbs, there comes the mari Habba(Kannada Slang). Each climb used to take more than usual time, I was feeling full sleepy and Natesh is ahead and not seen. The advantage of riding Road Bike, he was rolling fast in descents. Luckily he stopped for a hydration break to drink Coconut water, the break was very much required for me to get out of sleepiness and start fresh. From here on I was feeling fresh, quickly headed towards Anandapura CP4, en-route we saw a horrible accident a lady riding scooter has met with an accident and died on spot. Seeing her body on the ROAD, I started gettin feelings I might also die like this if someone hits me during the Journey.

But somehow my feelings started becoming positive, there is a purpose of our living we should forget everything else and siege the current moment. In quick time we reached Anandapura CP4 and saw Mohan and Mariya setting up the control point(CP) with Dil Pasand and Paper Boat drinks. We saw Anand(friend), he has decided to quit due to his knee issue and tyre burst. I didn’t want to encourage him to push further that will further damage his injury instead told him its a good decision and carry on and reach home safe. Said bye to Anand and Volunteers and left for Sagara for lunch.

Anandapuram CP
Credits: Mohan Subramanyam Anandpuram CP

Checked In: 10:30am
Check Out: 10:45am
Total Km: 343km
Time: 18h:45m

Headed towards Sagara, the ride was smooth but the heat was building up and making it difficult to pace our ride. We were looking out for Hotel for the lunch, we settled at a small shop who served us good Oota. I could not eat much, as I was feeling something burning in my throat and settled for a curd and rice. Natesh was looking for a long break here, but I was saying instead we will roll slowly if we get sleep we can take break in between rather than waiting here. He agreed and we started towards Jog.

Checked In: 12:05pm
Check Out: 01:05pm
Total Km: 376km
Time: 21h:05m

Sugarcane Juice at Talaguppa

While going towards Jog, we stopped for a quick Sugar Cane Juice on the roadside just before Talaguppa around 387Km and Jog was somewhere at 400km mark. The route to Jog is high rolling, I had an experience of doing Jog 1000 and remember the route while going back to Bangalore. I kept my momentum of not pushing, but try to be in my zone to move continuously. Once we climbed the mountain before Jog, it was all downhill till we take a left to Jog falls. Me and Natesh Stopped at a place for taking photos where taking left will go to Jog falls. We decided to not go to Jog falls, if we go we will loose 30–45mins of our crucial time, eventually the decision we took helped us in saving some time and energy.

Jog
Jog
Jog: Goa Jersey Pose

From Jog to Gerusoppa is hill climb and followed by a long descent till we reach Gerusoppa Lemon Juice point. We get a Masth Lemon juice at Gerusoppa don’t miss it while you are on this route(Drop a comment . from here on, I started taking the lead, I sensed the climbs are coming and ate the Britannia Brownie which I was carrying. That helped to recharge my energy and calories for the next set of climbs. Started peddling in my zone ensuring I am not pushing at all, I see that in climbs my HR was not going past 140bpm. Here I saw Grinny at distance, said Hi to her and didn’t disturb her much and I overtook her and went ahead.

Lemon Juice point, Gerusoppa

Time: 04:15pm
Total Km: 430km

Filled water at Juice shop and headed towards the next place Honnavara. We saw Sudharshan coming in Bike with someone else in opposite direction, he got down from the bike and enquired about the lemon juice shop details. I said it is at least 1–1.5km away from the junction, he has forgotten and kept his mobile at the lemon juice shop. He asked for my cycle to quickly go to check for the phone. I agreed to give bike, but there was an auto at that place, we thought let us check with the auto if the auto person can take him, it will be easy to commute.

He went in auto and we started moving towards Honnavara, thinking about Sudharshan if he can find his phone, but little did we know the route to Honnavara is the toughest one. But in our minds we were thinking it will be an easy route and can expect to reach Honnavara as early as possible. In mean time saw Sudharshan passing by us in auto in happy face, he found his phone. In next few kms we started seeing steep climbs all the way rolling high as possible, it blowed my mind. For 30km it took 2hrs to reach Honnavara, I must say this is a good stretch to practice and the road not rolling much, it is difficult to pace in this section. Lot of riders got tired up here.

Reached Kamat Hotel at Honnavara, which was on left side towards Panjim highway. Saw Monish and his gang starting to move towards Ankola CP. Also Sunil Kumar Gopala Chari, Anandaraj Thangappan and Ratheesh were having food inside the hotel. I sat next to Ratheesh and asked him quickly what we can get, he told there is no rice items but you get just Set Dosa. I quickly ordered 1 set dosa and called Natesh enquired where he is, he was somewhere 4–5km behind I asked his preference and ordered Masala Dosa for him. Before Natesh reached the point, I finished my Dosa and was ready to roll. Waited for Natesh to reach, in mean time Ratheesh left the place.

Time: 06:17pm
Total:461km

After Natesh having food we were set to go to Next CP which was approx. 60km, me and Natesh were thinking if the road towards Ankola is same as Jog-Honnavara section then we will be loosing buffer time and have to be very careful in our breaks. Actually the 50km route till Ankola CP is 4lane highway and its easy rolling and moving fast. Just before like 5km to Ankola CP saw Uday Kumar and Raghu crossing us.

In short time we reached Ankola CP around 10:13pm, we had a good buffer with around 90km in hand to cover and finish in 10hrs of time. At this point, my body was fully tired and thoughts of quitting started popping up mainly due to my thighs were paining badly. I had not practiced climbing much before, the result of that is aching my thighs badly. Saddle soreness was also irritating and the whole focus was going there. I discussed the same to Mohan and told him don’t know if I can continue post Goa. I quickly finished my dinner box served by Bangalore Randonneurs team and lied down to rest my body till Natesh finished off his Dinner.

Credits: Mohan Subramanyam Ankola CCD CP

Time: 10:13pm
Total: 510km

The rest helped a lot, my body felt little better and we started journey towards Goa. In slow pace till the Goa Climbs started, I was riding very slow struggling with Saddle Soreness and being sleepy. Once the climb started I started to take the lead and moved cross Natesh. In that dark night I was hearing every damn sound that is coming from a very long distance.

The Goa climbs were super fun, it was so quiet unless a vehicle passed by. After the first climb, I stopped at the top and started waiting for Natesh to join. Saw Uday and Raghu crossing us, I told them I am waiting for Natesh. There were few lorry drivers stopped and fixing puncture, one person came and asked why are you cycling in night? I told them its a training ride and he started grilling more. I could not avoid, but told them if I finish this ride I will be selected for Navy, as Navy requires lot of physical and mental strength. I used this Navy trick all along my ride, this helped a lot to stop people perspective on riders and they mind their work later.

After 10 or more mins, saw Natesh accompanying Grinny in the dark and riding together. I joined them and headed towards the next climb which is 2km long, again my zone was easy I started moving in my pace and lost Natesh. Grinny stopped somewhere to fill water, the moment downhill started after a while Natesh crossed me and started moving ahead. We reached Drop bag1 Go Go Goa Hotel at 5:30am. We created 2:30hrs buffer time, I wanted to quit due to saddle soreness but wanted to take call post the sleep.

Go Go Goa Hotel half done…!

Handed over my Bib card to Mariya Reddy and got timestamped. I was allotted to Uday, Raghu’s room, went up with the drop bag and I see Uday is in room and he in puzzled tone told me you are also in the same room? I said Yes! and he informed we are already 3 people who just came in, it will take some time to get my turn to access to bathroom. Better check if I can get another room, he made a valid point, I went down and requested the same, there was another room I can access bathroom and finish my bath and come back and stay in same room which was allotted earlier.

I following the same it will save some time but still I will waste some time in going around different rooms, can’t do much and I quickly had a bath put my power bank on charge and kept the alarm for 8am that’s a solid 2hrs of sleep, Raghu also told me to wake him up at same time so we were sticking to 8am. But I got up before 8am due to Uday’s Alarm at 7:30am and tried to get to sleep for the additional 30mins, but it was broken sleep. As my alarm beeped at 8am got up quickly, changed clothes to Cycling gear applied Chamois cream and I was ready with in 10mins went down handed over drop bag and called Natesh to check if is he ready for 8:30am start, he was in for the same. In mean time I finished my breakfast with 2 eggs and Upma that filled my stomach. Took my cycle which was in first floor and went down for the second leg of the journey. Before reaching Drop bag point I was thinking of quitting now I am ready to finish the ride, no matter what. The refreshing sleep gave me a good recovery. By 8:35am we were set to leave hotel, Mohan was not around so there was no pic of us.

Church at Madgoa and Go Goa Hotel

In a couple of meters we saw Grinny peddling, wished Grinny and moved forward. The route in Goa has lot of deviation, had we not had Navigation in Garmin device it would have been difficult to keep up with each turn. It being a Sunday in Goa, we saw lot of people dressed up very well for the prayer in Church. Markets were crowded and we had a nice view of the Madgoa town. The route was a rolling terrain with climbs and descent, the first 30km we had a descent start Avg 20–22km/hr, the next 20km till Anmod Ghat base took us somewhere around 90mins-120mins.

Ride towards Anmod Ghat

The route was so beautiful with plantation of Cashew nut trees all along, River streams, nice bridges, steep climbs sometimes 20grade, tree cover with a nice view just felt Kodagu 650 route. I never saw this side of Goa before, I fell in love with the beautiful landscapes of this part and forgot about the time. I thought next time if I am in Goa will go around this place and spend some quality time. Before realising the scenic route is done I reached Panaji-Belgaum highway intersection, I stopped for a quick bite before the Anmod Ghat climb, ordered 3 lemon sodas Natesh was behind, the guy prepared a nice juice for us. With 2 lemon sodas, my tummy was full I felt I am good for Anmod Ghat which spreads for a good 20km. Mohan joined by this time and asked him to try Lemon soda which is too good for that temperature and enquired about lunch option with him, we were at Anmod Ghat Checkpost around 12:00pm and calculated our time and thought we will reach Anmod by 2:00pm so we are good for lunch at Anmod town at top.

Lemon Juice at Anmod Ghat Checkpost

With this said bye to Mohan, me and Natesh started off our climb towards Ghat, the first few kilometres were easy. Slowly the climb started with grades of 3, 4 and 6 and not more than this. It’s a gradual climb and was not steep and not so difficult, in mind It was running I have to do non stop with no breaks in between. I sticked to the same plan, but around half the climb the heat was too much to handle I was emitting too much of heat from my body. I removed my jersey zip and poured water from my head to all around body to get cooled down.

Anmod Ghat View

It was not enough, but felt little better than before, I crossed the Goa part of the climb and reached Karnataka side which starts with Cement road. I was sensing my energy is dropping but the good part is my HR never crossed 140bpm that means I am not burning more calories and I am in ideal range of energy consumption. I Reached the Anmod town around 1:20pm took close to 70mins for the stretch and looked for Hotel for the lunch.

Anmod Ghat Goa Side vs Karnataka Side

Saw a cycle resting, stopped over and I see Ratheesh having his Curd rice for lunch. I quickly ordered the same for me and asked them to prepare 2 lemon juice with salt and 2 Double egg omelette. Natesh is behind, I can finish my lunch and his will be ready by then he arrives, waited for close to 30mins, Ratheesh left the place saying Sunil and others just left when I entered. Now I waited for Natesh, by then he reached the food for him was on table, he finished up quickly and told him we should start by 2:45pm Max. We were on dot and left the place by our set time.

Double Egg Omelette

Saw Mohan vehicle parked just after Anmod town, it was full descent after lunch break we missed the right to Castle Rock place and went 1km far from the turn and later realised we missed the turn. We peddle back to the turn and started rolling towards Dhudhsagar falls at least the boards around this route was showing as DhudhSagar. At first you will feel this route is so isolated and very much scary as soon as you descent down the uphill starts you will forget everything and start focus on climbing. The grade easily touching 15–20 with roads in bad shape it was not at all rolling. The stretch from here to Jagalbeta is full on high rolling and very scenic you will definitely enjoy it.

Towards Castel Rock

It took longer than usual time but no worries in spending the dawn here.. Reached Jagalbeta I see Ratheesh, Uday and Raghu who crossed me earlier stopped at Jagalbeta at a shop. I didn’t stop there but I wanted to view the Sopa River Dam view and I continued moving forward, from here on I was not able to keep in touch with Natesh due to no network and I could not wait or neither inform him about the same. I thought to myself, let me roll on and wait at some town where he can join me. The road from Jagalbeta to Sopa dam was broken fully and its a downhill, me being on MTB struggled to dodge the patches and it started to hard hitting on to my palms. Stopped over at Sopa Dam, took a click and moved to Ganesh Gudi for a CP check to take selfie. By that time, Ratheesh was in and he clicked selfie of us and sent to group.

Sopa Dam View
Ganeshgudi CP KPTCL
Ganeshgudi towards Dharwad Road, leaves falling scenes

I was running low on water and have to fill in before it dries out, the people over at KPTCL Ganeshgudi asked us to go down and check in for shops. There were no shops but an old lady was standing outside at a turn where we go towards Dandeli Road-Dharwad. I asked for water refill the Ajji didn’t mind and started getting us water to drink and then to fill our bottles, she had to do couple of loops inside and out to fill our bottles but she was happy and didn’t get irritated in going in and out for couple of times.

Ajji wished us oledu aagli makale(Let the good happen children) we said bye to her and moved towards the last climb that is shown in my Garmin device. Ratheesh who was with me, stopped for pee and asked me to continue. I was all alone from here to Dandeli Road Junction and then saw Uday and Raghu crossing me. Uday and me started to discuss, got to know Uday is an ultra runner and also his fond for steel bikes. I am doing long stretches with no breaks sometimes my stretches were crossing 70–80km and then I was stopping for refuelling.

Dandeli Road

I didn’t stop till Haliyal junction from the time I started from lunch Anmod, the stop I took for water refuelling at Ganeshgudi and next at Haliyal junction to load calories and be ready for the final 35km before reaching Dharwad Mutt CP. Me, Uday, Raghu and Pankaj who was going slow due to his broken spoken stopped for a quick bite. The shop people were serving Vada Pav, I didn’t hesitate and ordered 2 for me, Uday hesitated a bit and later ordered for him too and all the riders slowly increased the number. I ate 3 Vada Pav and it was too good I would have ate easily another 3. Called up Natesh, as I was receiving network he was like 5km away I waited for him, he was with Ratheesh. I order 2 VadaPav for Natesh they came in ate their servings Ratheesh told me to go past and they will catch me. I was ok with it and started moving, before that Uday, Raghu and Pankaj left much ahead while I was waiting for Natesh.

VadaPav served in hot in Oven.

From Haliyal towards Dharwad, the road is too narrow and lot of double deck tractors loaded with Sugarcanes load plying, also not to forget KSTRC mad Max drivers overtaking in narrow roads. This is a very risky route have to be very careful and we have to ensure we are visible to others on road else we will be hit down. After going past Haliyal town, the traffic eases a bit and road started becoming good. The route till Dharwad is high rolling goes past some forest section I did a non stop ride not stopping any where. Also, the last 10km to CP the road is completely gone and very hard to peddle in this bad road, during the course Uday and Raghu had stopped in between somewhere. And again Uday crossed me and told a word how many times I should overtake you Suresh. Yes told to myself I am on a MTB setup maximum I can beat you in uphill, downhill for sure I can’t beat you. The next I saw uphill, I overtook Uday and ensured he will never cross me again till Dharwad, and we stopped exactly at a point where we have to take right towards Mutt where the CP is. Took a right and after few kms saw Mohan car stopped at a Bus stop, quickly got my BIB timestamped, finished my Dinner and was ready to go. Called up Natesh and checked where he is, he was far away from the place I said I am moving from CP. This is the point I have never seen Uday, Raghu, Ratheesh and Natesh anywhere till Bangalore.

Dharwad CP

The next 90km is my target to reach Drop Bag point2 Haveri, I thought of doing it in 2 sessions. Session 1 go past dangerous Dharwad-Hubli Section and then to Haveri. Sleep started kicking in Hubli road, I stopped on the road side splashed some water to face, sat for 5mins on the road side listening to the heavy vehicles roaring sounds. I started from here after feeling I was good to start, with good descent pace I crossed Hubli Toll, and then while crossing Shell petrol pump somewhere near Bankapur saw few blinking lights and a couple of kms forward saw Sunil and Anand T resting at a hotel. I sensed I am on a decent pace and continued for another 10km and stopped at a hotel which was 40km away from DropBag2 point.

Omellete somwhere at Bankapur

I had a double egg omelette filled water, started my next session. Sunil and Anand T passed me, we had a small chat and they zoom past from here, I tried to keep up with there pace till 10km that pumped my alertness and my sleep mood was totally gone. After reaching Haveri saw 3 Pune cyclists, Amol we were having chat and looking at the Narmada Residency Hotel CP from 5km it was bit inside from the main road after searching in google got the hotel address.

Time was 3:30, went inside the hotel Dr Netra was there, she greeted and allotted room. Went inside room finished my bath, applied my Chamois cream and time was around 4:15am. Set alarm for 6:30am, I had enough buffer but wanted to be on safer side looking at what ChitraDurga stretch offers. Got up at 6:35am, felt bit okish in sleep not a refreshing sleep like Goa. Dressed up, finished Breakfast and handed over my Bag to Mariya, Sagar Jadav. Mohan was bit busy, I said bye and started from here, saw Natesh coming inside hotel. I told him I am moving and enquired about his sleep, he said all fine and will get freshen up and start from here. I was happy for that, I moved from the hotel time was around 7:15am.

Swad Cafe Set Dosa and Socials hotel Drop bag in Chalukya 1200

With good pace my first stop was at Davanagere Swad Cafe that’s a solid 70km+ stretch had a Set dosa and saw Rohit, Akash, Nishanth, Nakul entering into Cafe. Finished my bite and said bye to them and left towards the next hottest section Chitradurga, I need another 70km to reach CP10. It was too hot and to add the spice, Wind was blowing left and right making it too difficult. Also during this stretch my saddle started biting and there was nothing to find to eat on the highway in this route.

Somewhere nearing Chitradurga a Biker came by and was enquiring about why am cycling how far? etc.. I maintained same answers I am joining Navy hence the training. He offered me to hold him so that he can push me till Chitradurga for sometime, for a second I got tempted and I will get some relief. I told him, I would like to peddle and finish, thanks for your concern. From here managed to reach UpdayaRuchi CP10 hotel at 3:14pm, saw Chandra in hotel Ordered Paneer Fried rice and as usual 2 Lemon soda and 1 orange Juice. Finished my lunch, I got a call from Manikantan he explained, this stretch will be windy take some rest and start so that you can belt easily to Sira, I took his suggestion. Also got calls from my Friends Shiva and Rohit, posted my status. By the time Rohit, Nakul and his gang has reached, quickly the hotel was filled up with cyclists all around, as I was done, I laid down and slept for 15mins got up and I was ready to roll for the next CP11.

UpdayaRuchi Hotel Chitradurga

Got on to bike, started towards Sira there were cross winds and some stretches there was tail wind and a long descents helped to pace up. Before crossing Hiriyur, Akash caught up with me we were having a good chat I got to know Akash is a full-time Badminton Coach, now I knew more about him than before. He went ahead to catch his Tortoise friends, and they stopped after Hiriyur. I was all fine and moved ahead and reached Sira CP11 at 8:00pm. Got my Bib timestamped with Mohan, Nakul and Nishanth were there already. Picked Dal Kichidi box and started eating, Mohan advised to take CafeCoffeeDay — Devil’s Own coffee and I will be sorted to reach Bangalore sooner than I thought, took the coffee it was too good.

Thought I will lie down for sometime by then Rohit and his gang also Pune cyclist Gang reached. It was too loud now and I couldn’t rest much here, thought I will move and even Rohit gang was ready to roll. Took one Dal Kichidi box and kept in my bag, we started from here, the final 130km.

CafeCoffeeDay — Devil’s Own coffee

The Final 130km my struggle went to next level here..

We left at 9:15pm thinking to finish in 2 sessions, i.e., reach around 4am. Saw Chandra enroute we were having a small conversation but I was getting doubt I didn’t see him at CCD Sira asked him about the same, he didn’t had clue about the CP, told him then you have missed CP call Mohan and check. Mohan, asked him to come back and get timestamped else DNF, he had to go back again which was around 4km. Wished him and I was all alone for the final leg.

Final 100

My bum was completely damaged I was not able to sit, started peddling off the saddle for around 20km and I couldn’t push much and was very slow in reaching Tumkur Toll. Just before toll, the Tumkur bypass was so horrible. I started getting tears in my eyes with pain all over the body I was damn like I might not continue, but first I need to reach Tumkur toll which took me 1hr to reach for just 10km. I Sat at a stone after toll, started crying and feeling the pain all over. Sunil and Anand T reached and Sunil asked why are you sitting are you getting sleep or so? I told him I have a bad saddle sore and I am simply sitting, he offered me Coconut oil and Chamois cream, I applied and started feeling bit good. After that I started my journey, from here 65km to Bangalore.

My toughest cycling days, no matter what I have to finish this for the lady who had died at Shimoga in an accident. With all the adjustment and drama I reached Nelamangala Toll and slowly Parle factory, the elevated highway was closed so took the usual road below flyover to Yeswanthpur. Time was around 4am, now I wanted to finish this ride in less than 85hrs. From here I pushed to the core in 44mins amidst all traffic I was there at FKCCI entrance to take a selfie of mine to finish this unexpected 1200km LRM.

The final Selfie at FKCCI

Just days before ride, I was feeling I am not prepared to attempt the ride to successfully finishing in 84h:44m time. This is the ride I went with the belief of my friends on me, more than me they were very sure I will lit 🔥 this. And nevertheless THE BIKE PERFORMED WELL! I am just a tool.

Endurance for me is all about Discovering who you are and how you talk to your body, together complementing each other.

Thanks to my sir Mohan Subramanyam. His tips, just adapt it the rest follows, THANKS a ton to Natesh for giving me confidence to start the ride. This ride wouldn’t have been possible because of you and Sagar Bhardawaj.

The stats chuk it..
No big sleepless ride in 45days yet faired well(for me)
The secret astra is my Zone 2 HR training, I Just focused on HR preparation and the optimal miles behind. Due to HR I could easily finish all the climbs without a single break.

Ride Metrics from Garmin
Ride Details
Strava Ride stats

https://www.strava.com/activities/8595630228

Thanks to Shah Bikes, Tanveer to service my bike in a good condition for the big ride. Not even a single niggle I faced.

Thanks to Volunteers Binod, Sagar Jadav, Ram, Mariya Reddy and Mohan Subramanyam in keeping us encouraging and helping us in hydrating and filling calories in critical places.

Jarvis, performed Extraodinarily
The Happy Faces
The Group
Final Smiles!
Ride profile with a Elevation of 9500Mt
Friends!

--

--