Why I Still Embrace the Pomodoro Technique in 2024

Swaraj Patankar
3 min readJan 14, 2024

--

I hate to say this, but I was not a productive person at all. Every day, I used to make a checklist of tasks that I wanted to do, but due to the distractions I was surrounded by, I was not able to finish even 30% of my daily tasks. I used to procrastinate a lot for not finishing my tasks every day. It gave me a negative vibe that I’m not doing well, and I’ll never be able to achieve my goals.

Sounds all negative, right? I believe this is not just me who’s not able to finish their daily checklist of work. After observing my daily schedule and my bad surroundings for a week, I found out that I can’t do multiple things at the same time. This is where I started researching different ways to get tasks done, and I found something called the Pomodoro technique.

For someone who doesn’t know about the Pomodoro technique, I’ll explain it to you:

Imagine you have a big task to do, like homework or studying. The Pomodoro Technique is like a game to help you get it done without feeling too overwhelmed.

How it works:

Pick a task: Choose something you need to do, like reading a book or doing math problems.

Set a timer: Use a timer (like the one on your phone or a kitchen timer) and set it for 25 minutes. This 25 minutes is called one “Pomodoro.”

Work on the task: Focus and work on your task until the timer rings. Try your best not to get distracted during this time.

Take a break: When the timer rings, take a short break — maybe 5 minutes. Stretch, grab a snack, or do something fun.

Repeat: If you still have more to do, go back to step 1 and start another Pomodoro. After every four Pomodoros, take a longer break, like 15–30 minutes.

The idea is that the timer helps you stay focused for a short time, and the breaks keep you from getting too tired. It turns work into a kind of challenge or game, making it more fun and less stressful!

Isn’t it the best way to finish your tasks and achieve your goals?

I started using this technique when I used to prepare for my bachelor’s degree exams. I used to spend 25 minutes focusing on revising and understanding concepts, and in the next 5 minutes, I used to eat some snacks as a reward or spend those 5 minutes talking to my dad and my mom. But I never touched the phone during those 5 minutes because I knew if I touched my phone, then I would lose my focus and spend more time on the phone.

So, just friendly advice: “If you really want to achieve your goals, then don’t use your phone during your focus time.” You can put your phone on silent or turn on DND (Do Not Disturb) mode.

I did all my semester preparation using the Pomodoro technique, and the result was mind-blowing. In my semesters, I had a GPA above 9/10 (You can verify my scores by visiting my LinkedIn profile :)

After my bachelor’s degree, I used the Pomodoro technique to prepare for interviews. As I was preparing for a Product Management role, I had to prepare for different types of interview questions, like Product design, Metrics Questions, behavioral, and so on. While preparing, I used to take one question and try practicing it for 25 minutes and then take a break for 5 minutes.

I used to spend 5 hours a day, and the rest of the time I used to spend on watching Netflix or going out with friends. I prepared for about a month, and after that, I started giving interviews. As always, I gave tons of interviews and failed multiple times, but I never stopped preparing. I didn’t change my 5 hours of preparation time because I knew that if I increased my time, then I might not prepare well by exhausting my brain.

After 2 months of preparation and tons of interviews, I got 3 offers🥳. I didn’t feel overwhelmed while preparing for the interviews thanks to the Pomodoro technique.

You can use the app or a watch to track your time. You don’t need to spend any money on buying a Pomodoro product.

Just try once. You won’t regret it, I promise:)

--

--

Swaraj Patankar

Sharing life's mishaps and 'inspiring' tales that might make you wonder if I'm a cautionary tale or a motivational speaker in disguise.