Feels Like You’re Writing In A Void

It’s good to hear even one person appreciates your work.

Sydel Brown
4 min readJun 11, 2019
Photo by Ameer Basheer on Unsplash

I’ve been suffering a crisis of conscience lately, trying to find the delicate balance between writing and trying to make a living.

The ideal, of course, would be to make a living at writing. But until then, I’m struggling.

And it often feels like my writing is going into the void.

I don’t stare at the stats for every story I write. But I do check. That’s the advantage of self-publishing on Medium: for better or worse, you get to see the nitty gritty details.

And when no one’s reading the stories, I have to wonder: am I a terrible writer? Are my headlines bad? Should I write things like everyone else is writing just to get eyeballs to my work?

Unfortunately, that’s not something I’m good at doing. I can definitely pivot with the best of them (I am an amateur dancer/skater and a professional dizzy gal from constantly spinning trying to make things work), but full-on “selling out” is something I’ve never been able to do.

So I took a step back and stopped trying to publish every day. I’m trying to craft stories I enjoy writing, and I hope someone may enjoy reading them.

--

--

Sydel Brown

Writing about writing, sex, love, dating, relationships, and life with a twist of humor. Sometimes I bite. Can be NSFW. Buy me a coffee? Ko-fi.com/sydelbrown